»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2008, 07:32 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
mcarr is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by djeddieo View Post
I guess that would be more effective than trying to get Google to stop listing them, which was the thought that I had. I only discovered them from a Google shopping search (what used to be called "Froogling"), but I guess you're saying that prestosell.com is legitimate and it's prestomart.com that's not.
Both sites are from the same company - prestosell is the same as prestomart. They are using different web addresses but both are from the same web company. Nevertheless, Apple-Electronics is using both of the sites to promote their fraud.

mcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:42 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
mcarr is on a distinguished road
Apple-Electronics.com And Their Evil Spawns Update

Hello,

I got some more cooperation from web hosting corporations. The fake Apple-Electronics.com and their spawns have been dealt another death blow.

The site http://www.apple-iphone-ipod-sale.com was hosted by Lycos Domains. Here is their response:
Message by our staff on Wed, 16th Jan 2008 11:55 am
The account you have brought to the attention of the Lycos Network Abuse Department was found to be in violation of our Terms and Conditions. As a result, it has been removed from our servers. Thank you for reporting it to us.

Please note that the creator of this page is in no way directly associated with the Lycos Network or its web publishing products. We exercise no editorial control over the content posted by or the actions of our users. All users are expected to abide by our Terms and Conditions, which can be found at the following URL:

http://www.lycos.com/lycosinc/legal.html

I hope you find that our prompt response to this situation addresses your concerns. If you have any questions or find more accounts that require our attention please feel free to contact us again.


Jack
Customer Service
Lycos Services.

-----------------

Another hosting company, PrestoBiz has closed their sites as well.

Here is their reply:

Hello,

Our fraud department has investigated this merchant (a1secureshop.com) and their current account with PrestoBiz has been closed. No other information is available at this time.

Melanie R.
PrestoBiz Sales

-------------

They missed http://www.prestosell.com/cgi-bin/or...=ibizshop&fm=1

I am working on getting them to shutdown that as well but it appears that they have made the scammers pages inactive.

Please keep in mind that the scammer has been know to create new sites under different names. I will periodically check to find them.
mcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:55 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
schneid1968 is on a distinguished road
Glad to see that the web sites have been taken down. But you guys are right, they'll just have a new web site up soon. I'd like to see them go to jail.

I was scammed too. I ordered a camera for about $95 and sent a check. I haven't checked to see if that check was cashed yet. Bastards!

- schneid
schneid1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 10:07 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
aggieash is infamous around these parts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcarr View Post

aggieash - you are probably out of luck. You will have to go through your bank's check fraud claims department. There is little chance that you recover the money but you never know.
Bank of America check fraud claims is unable to help since I wrote and signed the check. I was directed by the check fraud claims dept to file a police report. Something tells me the police where I live in OK aren't going to care, and I'm not sure if I should contact the NYC police (one might assume they have bigger crimes to fight??) I am considering contacting BofA again to find out which Citibank in NY cashed my check. "PJ..d..n" very clearly signed the back of my check. I might still contact the NYC police.

I'll also contact Prestosell and Prestomart, so they have a real example of someone who lost $$.
aggieash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 10:18 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
djeddieo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
djeddieo is on a distinguished road
I guess I was really lucky to get payment stopped in time. $207 was a price that was too good to be true (I since reordered from a viable vendor - I hope - for the 'next-lowest' price of $289!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostbitetwice View Post
Moderator, please remove this post....
I still don't know why someone would want my post removed
djeddieo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 12:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lara RR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
djeddieo, frostbitetwice's post has been removed until he offers an explanation in response to my email inquiry in this regard, as I also fail to understand why.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 03:07 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
aggieash is infamous around these parts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcarr View Post

What I need for everyone to do especially those that have been victimized is to lobby prestosell.com to drop the websites, http://www.prestomart.com/seller.php?seller=secureshop and http://www.prestosell.com/cgi-bin/or...=ibizshop&fm=1.

I have been communicating to them about the scam sites. They seem interested but need more proof. I have given them more proof but it would help if they get some emails from those that have posted recently.

Together, we can defeat these people.
I got a response from PrestoBiz in response to removing http://www.prestomart.com/seller.php?seller=secureshop and http://www.prestosell.com/cgi-bin/or...=ibizshop&fm=1. When I went to these pages they were either inactive or showed an error, but I asked that they be removed completely. See response from PrestoBiz below:

Service: PrestoStore
Response Posted 01/16/08:

Hello,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have requested our fraud department investigate your suggestion to remove his inactive account prior to the automatic deletion date.

Thank you again,

Peter C.
PrestoBiz Sales
aggieash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 07:44 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
mcarr is on a distinguished road
aggieash,

Even if PrestoBiz does not remove it completely, nobody can buy anything anyway. We have defeated them for the time being.

All,

I suggest to all, that you check from time to time for the next several months to see if they came back under a different name. Do a search based on the item you ordered and look for a price identical to what you saw in their recent website. Then if you have the Linux OS use the command line and type whois website name to determine who is behind the registration of the site. Or do a web search for whois to find a site to do a whois search for you. Check the registration name for Joeseph Landa, Landa, Patrice Jordan or Pat Jordan. Look at the JPEG's to see if they Jordan in the corner. Then check to see if they only take checks or cash. The other sign is that the only credit card is AMEX.

Thank you for your help.
mcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.