»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2007, 03:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
yathi8999 is infamous around these parts
Need Info regarding 21electronics.com

I'm planning to buy a Canon SLR on http://21electronics.com . I want to know if this seller can perform. Appreciate if i get a reply ASAP.

yathi8999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
RED FLAG - Run Forest Run->

How do I pay for my order?
We reserve the right to accept payment by Western Union, E-gold, PayPal and Bank Transfer payments. You will receive the bank account information by e-mail after your order is submitted. Wire-transfer may take 1-2 business days to confirm. It must be confirmed by our bank before shipping can take place. After you have made your payment, please contact us to let us know that we can now collect your money. This will help us expedite your shipping. We will then attempt to collect your payment and notify you when it is set.
Steve R Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 07:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
The above reason plus the WhoIs info shows that the site was just created last week, 9OCT2007.

And, the 'Contact Us' page gives;
Quote:
Electronics 21, Inc.
Address: #5 Mall Terrace
City: Kingsport
State: Tennessee
Zip: 37662
Country: United States
Tel/Fax: 423-723-6598
Per Whitepages.com the phone number is a unlisted land line in Kingsport, TN.
However, Whitepages cannot find the address and the USPS gives the correct address and says,
Quote:
The address you provided is not recognized by the US Postal Service as an address we serve. Mail sent to this address may be returned.

This address may be Non-Deliverable
5 MULL ST
KINGSPORT TN 37665 - 2120
The USPS seems to be suggesting that there is no Mall Terrace in Kingsport, TN.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 10-16-2007 at 07:25 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
davidows is infamous around these parts
Fraud investigation is already underway

Kingsport Criminal Investigations confirms that no such address exists. The headers on the Electronics21 emails come from Reston, VA and the website is hosted in Maryland.

They are offering Lenovo laptops at a price that is not possible for a legitimate dealer. If it seems to good to be true...

...especially when they won't accept any credit cards. Your money will be long gone without anything to show for it. They don't even offer Paypal on their checkout page. It's Western Union, Wired Moneygram or eGold and that's it. None of them offer the buyer any protection against fraud.

Last edited by davidows; 10-19-2007 at 02:03 AM.
davidows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 06:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rouge_Trader is on a distinguished road
21electronics.com

The site has a logo of certification by IBCIM.ORG (Merchent certified)

I emailed them to confirm this is wot the said:-

Dear Sir,

This is a fraudulent site and we are currently taking action against this site. Please do not do business with them under any circumstances and we hope to have them shut down shortly.

Regards

Christian H. Nilsson

IBCIM.ORG



> ----------------------------------------
Sent: Thu Oct 18 17:12:45 CEST 2007
> To: <service@ibcim.org>
> Subject: IBCIM.ORG Contact Form


message: Hi,
> Can you please confirm that the following internet retailer has be certified by IBCIM.
>
> Electronics21
> http://21electronics.com
Rouge_Trader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 07:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
IBCIM.ORG has been having problems with sites ripping their logos and website for the last two years or so. RR's Online Scam Stores (Online Scam Stores - A list and guide) list contains two of them, eicafraud.oreg and eurocertonline, eicafrauds is the third. Since IBCIM has redesigned thier website in the last couple months, it looks like they are down to just stealing the logo.

Rouge_Trader,
Good eye. I saw that logo and thought it looked familiar, I just couldn't place where I'd seen it before.

nomaxim's ego -10
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 10-19-2007 at 07:40 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 07:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
yathi8999 is infamous around these parts
I can't thank you people enough for helping me out. This site is really great & so are good samaritans such as as yourselves.
yathi8999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
adam1967 is on a distinguished road
Thank you so much for exposing this apparently fradulent site. Froogle indexed their (presumably fake) offer of $670 for 30" 2560x1600 lp3065 monitor. I just wish froogle.google.com would list some URL for reporting possibly fraudulent listings.
adam1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 11:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Mick P is on a distinguished road
thanks for the info
this site came up on ebay in UK i emailed them and started having my doubts when there was no reply then started looking into it address in spain and italy dont come up on mapsorce (Garmin) i guess it must be fake. just voicemail on phone checked address in US but not an exact match been kicking my heals with this just couldnt put my finger on it but never felt right then lucky enough i found this post

Many thanks guys

Regards Mick
Mick P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 57
Kuulei is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Kuulei
Well it looks like they took it down
Kuulei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 AM.