»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Sarevok is on a distinguished road
Buying a computer

Hi, I'm new to the site and it so i could be posting in the wrong place about this(as it seems like its mostly to warn about fraudulent companies) but I'm looking on the site centauruscomputers.com and the price beats ibuypower by around $50 and I was on the phone with a customer support guy who was reallly helpful. My question is, has anyone ever had a problem with these guys? I havent found reviews for them anywhere. I also didnt see them on the bad company list. Any info would be great, thanks

Sarevok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

The WhoIs info shows that the website has only been up since JAN2007;
Quote:
domain: centauruscomputers.com
created: 02-Jan-2007
last-changed: 18-Aug-2007
registration-expiration: 02-Jan-2008

nserver: ns51.1and1.com 74.208.2.8
nserver: ns52.1and1.com 74.208.3.7

status: CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED

registrant-firstname: Aliaksandr
registrant-lastname: Voranau
registrant-street1: 6450 Matlea Ct
registrant-pcode: 28215
registrant-state: NC
registrant-city: Charlotte
registrant-ccode: US
registrant-phone: +1.7042807129
registrant-email: kit10dog @msn.com (edited,remove space)
The phone number listed, WhoIs and website, (704) 280-7129 comes back thru a reverse phone number look-up with Whitepages.com as a cell phone. A reverse address look-up, also using Whitepages.com verifies the name and address;
Quote:
Aliaksandr, V A
6450 Matlea Ct
Charlotte, NC 28215-5074
(704) 536-8497
I can find no listings with the BBB or with the North Carolina Secretary of State, corporations search.

It also appears that this is a newer address/building/home as it does not show up on Google Maps or Google Earth. Mapquest.com shows a location, but no road.
The USPS says it is a valid address.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarevok View Post
I havent found reviews for them anywhere. I also didnt see them on the bad company list.
Did you see them on a good company list ??

You should go, Sarevok, to the best rating list and select from them. I have not heard of either companies and would not buy from them.
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Sarevok is on a distinguished road
I cant find the best rated company list, is it a sticky somewhere?
Sarevok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 06:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 30
carl33p is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to carl33p
iBuyPower Rating
Seems they have a good product, but mediocre customer support.

I would trust them. Ive seen their ads in computer magazines for a while.
But dont expect quick shipping, or stellar support.
carl33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
michaels39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 430
michaels39 is on a distinguished road
I'd never risk my money with a company with the kind of ratings IBuyPower has.The same goes for CyberPower.For custom computers,I consider only companies with ratings over 9.0.For comparable prices,check out AVAdirect,VelocityMicro,Envision,or K.C. Computers.
michaels39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 05:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
quanvuong is infamous around these parts
What is Intel Core 2 Quad core?

Can someone explain to me what is Intel Core 2 Quad core? Are they supposed to be the best now on the market? Is this really have 4 processor on 1 mobo or 4 core in 1 processor? I'm really confuse by the name they use?
Thanks

Last edited by quanvuong; 08-31-2007 at 09:00 PM.
quanvuong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KarmaKiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 240
KarmaKiller is on a distinguished road
4 core in 1 cpu.

"Intel Core 2" is the model line name.
"Quad Core" lets you know that the chip has 4 cores.

KarmaKiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
quanvuong is infamous around these parts
for instance the intel Q6600 has 2.4GB core, is this meant 4 x 2.4 gb?
Thanks for your reply.
quanvuong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 06:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by quanvuong View Post
for instance the intel Q6600 has 2.4GB core, is this meant 4 x 2.4 gb?
Thanks for your reply.
Start your own thread and do not hijack this one, dude.
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 AM.