»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2007, 03:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
DLI3224 is on a distinguished road
Is Media-World-Ltd.com a legitimate company to order from?

Hello all, i'm Dedric and i'm new to your site. I would truly appreciate any help I can get from you folks here! I am thinking of purchasing a television from this company called Media-World-Ltd.com. They are based in the UK and I am very skeptical about doing business with a company that is overseas. This particular television i'm thinking of purchasing is selling for $800 on there site, including a $40 shipping cost via UPS. This is in comparison to other sites i've seen with the lowest cost being around the $1500 range plus. I've paid a lot of attention about wiring money and transfers etc. from reading some of the topics in the forums. The payment method they have is strictly done by use of a credit card. Also in addition to what i've stated, i've found this too:

Domain Name: MEDIA-WORLD-LTD.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: »www.melbourneit.com
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 18-may-2007
Creation Date: 18-may-2007
Expiration Date: 18-may-2008

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
--> fwhois media-world-ltd.com@whois.melbourneit.com:whois
[whois.MelbourneIT.com.au]

Domain Name.......... media-world-ltd.com
Creation Date........ 2007-05-19
Registration Date.... 2007-05-19
Expiry Date.......... 2008-05-19
Organisation Name.... STEVE FLEMING
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US

Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin
Admin Address........ P O Box 99800
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ EmeryVille
Admin Address........ 94662
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ US
Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ PrivateRegContact TECH
Tech Address......... P O Box 99800
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... EmeryVille
Tech Address......... 94662
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... US
Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

I'm very cautious when it comes to a deal like this, because it's often too good to be true. I see they have a merchant privacy policy along with a Yahoo! privacy policy as well, for whatever that is worth. I'm just wanting to find out the true legitimacy of this particular company and would like to know from anyone that can help me if it's okay to proceed with purchasing a TV from them. Anyone with any insight on this matter please let me know and reply in this thread. Thanks to you all. Take care everyone.

DLI3224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 06:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

Right off the WhoIs info shows that the site was just registered less then a month ago. It is a private registration in the US, the Registrar service is in Australia and the host is Yahoo.

The websites 'About Us' page gives;
Quote:
Address: Media@World
46 THE PARADE
MANCHESTER M27 4BH
UNITED KINGDOM
Phone: 020 30062603
Phone: 870 444 3105
Fax: 020 30062603
I have no idea where that phone number, 020 30062603, goes. Per Countrycallingcodes.com to place a call to Manchester, UK you would dial, +44+161+local number.
Per Numberingplans.com;
Quote:
This telephone number is most likely a Bouvet Island number. Specific information on this number range is not available. This might mean that this particular telephone number does not exist. Should this be incorrect, be sure to notify us.
I have never heard of Bouvet Island so I Googled it, wikipedia.org
Quote:
Bouvet Island (Norwegian: Bouvetøya) is an uninhabited sub-antarctic volcanic island in the South Atlantic Ocean, south-southwest of the Cape of Good Hope (South Africa). It is a dependent area of Norway and is not subject to the Antarctic Treaty, as it is north of the latitude below which claims are suspended.
I think I'll go with the part about it being a non-existent number.
Again using Per Numberingplans.com; the toll free number, 870 444 3105, returns;
Quote:
This telephone number is most likely an Inmarsat Single Network Access Code number. Specific information on this number range is not available. This might mean that this particular telephone number does not exist. Should this be incorrect, be sure to notify us.
Can't say that I would use them.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 06-15-2007 at 07:04 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
DLI3224 is on a distinguished road
Thank you for the information you provided. Just trying to make a sound decision on what I should do in terms of purchasing a TV from that site. I did a bit of research as well and have found that for the greater London area, including Manchester, I believe that the 020 area code is new for that specific area. The 044 area code is for the whole of England in general. I also called the number in the UK and it was a valid number but I got connected to a voice mailbox and left a message. I will continue to research this company and find out what I can about them. If anyone else can help assist me or provide me with even more information about them, it'd be very much appreciated. Thanks!
DLI3224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
The rest of the world does not use area codes.
1 is the country code for the US and long distance, 44 is the country code for the UK which includes England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.
161 is the city code, or the closest to an area code. UK city codes can be 2-6 digits in length
011 is for international long distance.
So to call Manchester you would dial 011 44 161 +local number.

Per my Vonage phone service the number 020 30062603, I tried 011 020 30062603 also, is invalid.
Quote:
We're sorry, the number you have dialed is invalid.
EDIT:
870 444 3105 or 1-870-444-3105 does not work either,
Quote:
Your call can not be completed as dialed. Please check the number and try again.
Per Area Code Listing, by Number
Quote:
870 Arkansas: areas outside of west/central AR: Jonesboro, etc
Whitepages.com says
Quote:
0 Results matching "(870) 444-3105"
There does not appear to be a 444 prefix in that area code, 870.

EDIT:
020 is not a valid area code in North America, it is also not a valid county code. The closest I can find is 20 which is the country code for Egypt.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 06-16-2007 at 07:15 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Damm, Master nomaxin, you should change your name to Mr Shurlock Homes, old boy. :..........................
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 07:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
See this thread Found another scam artist from last September.

I haven't linked them together yet, but the profiles are similar.
URL's used;
http://www.worldidmedia.com/ now dead.
http://www.ukih2k.net/ also now dead.
http://media-world-ltd.com/

Address's and phone numbers used;
worldidmedia.com
14 Saffron Close
Zip Code: LU2 7GF, Luton
Bedfordshire, UK
+39.045.576592, +39 is the country code for the Vatican City, ie. the Pope.

ukih2k.net
STRATFORD ROAD 9
LONDON
UK
W8 6RF
Phone: +20-83383077, +20 is the country code for Egypt.

All three of these sites are showing address's in the UK, WhoIs info shows registration address's in the US, and list phone numbers that go somewhere else or are non-existent. Prices are also way below normal.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 06-16-2007 at 07:59 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 PM.