»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2007, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
eca12 is infamous around these parts
http://the-camera-world.com is this a scam?

This shop has some online specials that sounds to good to be true!I am from australia so i dont know if this a scam or a real shop,they only acept bank deposits for international ordes,they say they are located in floral park new york,has anybody dealt with these guys,thanks to anyone then can help.
www.eyecandyaustralia.com.au

eca12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.
This them? http://the-camera-world.com/contactus.html

WhoIs info shows;
Quote:
Domain Name.......... the-camera-world.com
Creation Date........ 2007-03-30
Registration Date.... 2007-03-30
Expiry Date.......... 2008-03-30
Organisation Name.... CHERYL NEWELL
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host
This is a private regerstration, no way to verify who owns this site or where it is located. Just registered last week and only for one year.
As to the website itself. The following links are clickable, Verisign, ScanAlert's Hacker Safe, and Truste. But, they are not listed at Truste, HackerSafe does not display the date, and Versign does not open a verification pop-up. In other words they do not have validation from those services. WhoIs also shows no valid SSL for CC encryption.

The site also gives this address;
Quote:
CameraWorld, Inc.
81-31 259rh Street
Floral Park, NY 11004
United States
Per Whitepages.com's reverse address look-up this is an apartment building;
Quote:
16 Results matching "81 259th Street, Floral Park, NY"

Joshi, Harshadray
81-31 259th St
Floral Park, NY 11004
(718) 470-6974
The name at the address does not match the WhoIs info. Also note that the website mis-spells "th" as "rh".

http://the-camera-world.com/order.html states;
Quote:
Note: We only accept domestic credit cards (United States). International customers can send the payment by bank transfer.
If you are an international customer contact us for the wiring instructions.
If they do not take a CC then do not use them. I wouldn't use them even with a CC.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 04-07-2007 at 12:04 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 AM.