/www.electronics-discounted-store.com a SCAM website or Not ? - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2007, 06:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
cecilbro is on a distinguished road
/www.electronics-discounted-store.com a SCAM website or Not ?

please help me guys is this website for real ? they sell Panasonic TH-50PX60U 50 in.for $990.00 with free worldwide shipping ?

i have my money ready to transfer but need to know what you guys think about this website first ...

Thanks

cecilbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 08:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 56
Kuulei is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Kuulei
researching the name and doesn't look good, a warning comes up with that site linked to fraudulent banks http://db.aa419.org/fakebankslist.php
just type in 'Galaxy' and you'll see it
Kuulei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,058
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Good find Kuulei,
http://db.aa419.org/fakebankslist.php?psearch=Galaxy&Submit=GO&psearch type=
Top of the list.
WhoIs info;
Quote:
Registrant:
Electronics Discounted Store
2301-61st Lane North
St. Petersburg, FL 33710
US
Domain name: ELECTRONICS-DISCOUNTED-STORE.COM
Administrative Contact:
Brock, Sheryl tomjonson888 @ yahoo.com
2301-61st Lane North
St. Petersburg, FL 33710
US
1 727-347-9662
Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 11-Dec-2006.
Record expires on 11-Dec-2007.
Record created on 11-Dec-2006.
One year registration, free yahoo e-mail addy.

Using Whitepages.com reverse phone number look-up for 727-347-966 shows;
Quote:
Brock, S K
6534 34th Ave N
Saint Petersburg, FL 33710-2445
(727) 347-9662
Using Whitepages.com reverse adrress look-up shows;
Quote:
Brock, Charles B
2301 61st Ln N
Saint Petersburg, FL 33710-4133
(727) 381-3549
Google Earth shows 2301 61st Ln N to be a private residence.

BBB report for Galaxy Discount shows;
Quote:
Galaxy Discount, Inc
5525 Blanco Rd
San Antonio, TX 78216
Telephone: (210) 579-6774
www.electronics-discounted-store.com
Quote:
The Bureau develops a full report on a firm based on inquiry or complaint activity. This company first came to our attention in March 2007.
The phone number (210) 579-6774 matches the website 'Contact Us' info.
None of the address or phone number info matches up. I'd say that the WhoIs info is fake, and the Brocks are possibly victims of ID theft.

I'm also guessing by this, i have my money ready to transfer", that they want wire-transfer?

I concur with 'Artists Against 419'; Scam
__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim : 03-23-2007 at 08:46 AM.
nomaxim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
flipper812002 is on a distinguished road
The first give away is they cant type english very well. The second is

Q - How do I pay for an order?

A - We only accept payments by MoneyGram. We do not accept credit cards because recently we had many frauds with this type of payment. Therefore we can no longer accept payment by credit cards for now.

Q - Why only MoneyGram?

A - Because this is the safest and fastest way to finish the deal with our customers.

So yes i concur stay away from them totally
flipper812002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,058
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
The address in Texas doesn't pan out either;Whitepages.com
Quote:
21 Results matching "5525 Blanco Rd, San Antonio, TX"
None of them are Galaxy Discount, Inc.

One more for the list (Online Scam Stores - A list and guide) IMO.



Completely off topic, but what the hell is this;
Quote:
Izzy Sold It Corn
5525 Blanco Rd
San Antonio, TX 78216-6679
(210) 541-9084
Anyone care to guess at what this business sells.
__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 12:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
flipper812002 is on a distinguished road
I'd guess computers since that address seems to be a postal service location.
Best spot to recive fraudlent payments. Also the computer guess is because above the corn is izzy's computers....lol
flipper812002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
flipper812002 is on a distinguished road
I wonder should someone call the brocks and see if they know about this?
flipper812002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 04:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 56
Kuulei is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Kuulei
Looks like this "company" is one of those that enlist people, perhaps unsuspecting, to pick-up the Western Union, keep the agreed upon % and WT the balance http://pubcit.typepad.com/clpblog/20...e_web_act.html

All these posts have gotten them to the top of Google
Kuulei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
sherrybrock@yaho is on a distinguished road
Do not do business with Galaxy Discount or www.electronics-discounted-store.com. THIS IS A SCAM!!!! I am Sheryl Brock. I got a call from a concerned Californian today telling me that this website is registered to my ownership - lists my mother's address and my deceased father as well... I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS WEBSITE UNTIL FIFTEEN MINUTES AGO. I DO NOT NOR HAVE I EVER OWNED THIS BUSINESS. Someone has used my identity to create this scam. PLEASE DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH WHOEVER THIS IS. I am contacting the FBI with an identity theft complaint.

Last edited by sherrybrock@yaho : 03-26-2007 at 08:03 PM.
sherrybrock@yaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 01:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
RedpawGraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 45th Parallel PNW
Posts: 23
RedpawGraphics is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherrybrock@yaho View Post
Do not do business with Galaxy Discount or www.electronics-discounted-store.com. THIS IS A SCAM!!!! I am Sheryl Brock. I got a call from a concerned Californian today telling me that this website is registered to my ownership - lists my mother's address and my deceased father as well... I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS WEBSITE UNTIL FIFTEEN MINUTES AGO. I DO NOT NOR HAVE I EVER OWNED THIS BUSINESS. Someone has used my identity to create this scam. PLEASE DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH WHOEVER THIS IS. I am contacting the FBI with an identity theft complaint.
Company name: Galaxy Discount Inc.
Phone: (210) 579-6774
Fax: (210) 579-6774
E-mail: contact@electronics-discounted-store.com
__________________
Sure I'll pay by Western Union, as soon as you ship me the product first.
RedpawGraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)
Are the sites like this for rea.. (3)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 PM.