/www.electronics-discounted-store.com a SCAM website or Not ? - Page 2 - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2007, 06:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,059
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
sherrybrock@yaho,
Welcome to RR, sorry the circumstances are not better.
As the website registartion info is false you can also file a complaint with ICANN;
Quote:
Thank you for visiting the Whois Data Problem Report System. This form allows Internet users to submit reports to ICANN-Accredited Registrars concerning incomplete or inaccurate Whois data.
http://wdprs.internic.net/

__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim : 03-27-2007 at 08:55 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 07:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Temporarily Here is on a distinguished road
Galaxy Reincarnated

Hello, I came across this thread while researching another company that I encountered through Froogle while looking for bargains on a certain type of laptop. A website calling itself "becaboelectronics.com" had a price that was significantly lower than the next cheapest price offered elsewhere. A price that seemed too good to be true. So, I tried to research the site. Their "testimonials" page had dozens of customer reviews, but when I looked the site up on google, it returned precisely NOTHING. Not a single page mentioning that website or even the website itself. I wondered how a website could have so many supposed reviews yet have no presence on google, and was only further perplexed when I looked up the domain's WHOIS. According to the WHOIS info, the website has only existed since the 27th of March of 2007--which was less than two weeks ago, and perhaps not coincidentally, the date of the previous post in this thread. So then, I tried looking up the name of one of the "reviewers", and discovered through google a cached page of testamonials at another site which I realized is no longer online. That page contained the same "reviewers" and reviews as the one at becaboelectronics, except their order was shuffled, and the name of the website in those reviews was not becaboelectronics, it was that website's--Galaxy Discount. That pretty much confirmed to me that Becabo Electronics is a scam. I then looked up Galaxy Discount and found this page. I suspect the new website is run by the same people, who are now using a different victim's identity as their registration information:

Registrant:
Rebecca A Porter
42 Cherry Lane

South Grafton, MA 01560
United States of America

Registrar: DomainPeople, Inc.

Domain Name: becaboelectronics.com
Created on .............Sun Mar 25 15:32:30 2007
Expires on .............Tue Mar 25 15:32:30 2008
Record last updated on .Sun Mar 25 16:32:36 2007
Status .................LOCK

Administrative Contact:
Rebecca A Porter
Rebecca A Porter
42 Cherry Lane

South Grafton, MA
01560, US
(508)8872624
()
aaccaporter@aol.com

Technical Contact:
SiteProduct Web Services
Administrator DNS
1 N State Street
12th Floor
Chicago, IL
60602, US
(1312)2362132
(131)22361958
administrator@siteprotect.com

Domain servers in listed order:
a.dns.hostway.net 66.113.129.243
b.dns.hostway.net 64.26.0.115

(becaboelectronics.com)

By the way, I found this thread about Galaxy Discount at yahoo here: http://sg.answers.yahoo.com/question...0140223AA0fgKv

Apparently, some consumers were duped by these people. Whoever is doing this makes me angry not only because of the phishing and swindling, but also because I'm disappointed that laptop deal was fake. I'd like for whoever is responsible for this to be caught and publicly executed as an example to all others of their ilk!

Best Wishes and Fondest Regards,
Temp

P.S. That last statement was a slight exaggeration.

Last edited by Temporarily Here : 04-06-2007 at 07:25 AM.
Temporarily Here is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 10:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
River670 is on a distinguished road
Thank you guys!

Man am I happy I looked before sending money...
The site (becabo) no has this thing where you order and they say they will send it "cash on delivery". Then you get an email saying it has been cancelled due to problems with the UPS COD service and you have to wire the money...
I was thinking about it but figured I'll look around first. Good thing I did!
Whom ever let the Brocks know, can you also do the same for the Porters? (since you have the experience and all...)
Also, what's up with Google/Froogle? Shouldn't there be some controls or alert system? (as you can tell, I'm not very techi)
In any case, I just wanted to thank you guys from stopping me before I do something silly...
River670 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 05:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
lefty_guitar is on a distinguished road
Add another close call!

Becabo Electronics is surely a scam. Same senerio, same results. Ordered - confirmation - email stating problems with COD - reorder sending Western Union - left muliple emails - finally got a return email - so sorry, order again.
No, I don't think so. Came very, very close to sending money. Searched this site, and and confirmed my suspicion. AS THEY SAY " If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is".
Thanks, Lefty
lefty_guitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
cgarratt is on a distinguished road
Whew! Glad I found this post...

I was looking to buy from becaboelectronics but got suspicious when all they took for payment was Western Union Wire Transfer and E-gold... hmmm, so what you are saying is that if you screw me, I can't get my money back??? Yeah, right!

I started looking around to find more info and found this post so it confirmed what I was suspecting - too good to be true. Bummer
cgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 12:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,059
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by River670
Whom ever let the Brocks know, can you also do the same for the Porters?
There are three (3) Rebecca A. Porter's listed in Massachusetts, none of them live in that zip code (01560) or have that area code (508). In fact, the address '42 Cherry Lane, South Grafton, MA 01560' doesn't even seem to have an associated phone number. The number given (508)887-2624 comes back at Whitepages.com as;
Quote:
(508) 887-2624 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Type: Land Line Provider: Verizon Location: Grafton, MA
__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 10:55 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
upacktech is on a distinguished road
Galaxy Discount SCAM!!!

Unfortunatelly I fell down in this sight and I was swindelled and lost U$750 PLEASE DO NOT USE IT!!! If Anybody knows something I can do please let me know
upacktech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 11:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,059
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
upacktech, Welcome to RR, sorry it was not under better circumstances.
Since we do not know where these people are located at this time, I would suggest that you file a complaint with the US FEDS at http://www.ic3.gov
Thanks.
__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
please ignore (1625)
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.