»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2007, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
buening is infamous around these parts
Zlappy.com? Anyone buy anything from them?

Found a great deal on an Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 on www.zlappy.com but the site seems a bit fishy to me. I see that there is one rating on this website but i can't seem to send the guy a message to see what he bought. Doing a google/yahoo search about this website pretty much brings up nothing except for a few posts I made in various computer forums seeing if they bought anything from zlappy.com. Any advice? In the "about us" section of their website they give an address but no zipcode or phone number. Doing a reverse address lookup doesn't show it as a business or anything. Could use some advice from the knowledgeable. I've tried contacting them asking if the E6600 cpu chip is retail or OEM and they have not replied to any of me emails, which has pretty much driven me away. Their price is $100 cheaper than any other store. Seems to be a "too good to be true" deal. Thanks for the tips/advice!

buening is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 11:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Peter Cornstalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In My House
Posts: 267
Peter Cornstalk is on a distinguished road
They are trying to get people to click on Google Ads and sign up for a Chase card.

Quote:
In order for us to process your order you will need to complete the application for a credit card here:


Click Here

Please Click on the Chase Logo to Complete the Application. Once Your Application is Completed and Processed We Will Contact You With Your Order Information.
Then they get a commission and you get a new card. Will they honor this and sell you the item? I doubt it, they will give you some lie like "we were never notified that you were approved for the card, sorry". On top of that, you will be on a phone marketing list because they make sure they get a valid phone number from you or you can't get the card. Plus they will give at all your personal information to anyone they choose according to their Non-Privacy Policy.

Look who owns the site: http://www.leadcell.com/

Anyone that has Google ads on their store that links to competitors is either completely retarded or has ulterior motives. Plus the fact they use free bloated slow code here: http://www.zen-cart.com screams they are not serious.

Last edited by Peter Cornstalk; 02-14-2007 at 12:12 AM.
Peter Cornstalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Peter Cornstalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In My House
Posts: 267
Peter Cornstalk is on a distinguished road
Oh look what I get when I backup the browser to the Payment page:

Quote:
In order for us to process your order you will need to purchase a ZangoDeals membership.

<Google Checkout Image>

Once your order has been processed we will E-Mail you with your account information so that you can order your products. This fee is non-refundable and your account will become active within 24 hours.
Peter Cornstalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 05:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
buening is infamous around these parts
Thanks for investigating this. I pretty much knew something was up when a business can't afford to host it's own website and has to use google adds. I also found a website www.ibatteryfind.com that seems to be owned by zlappy.com. I guess i'll stay away from this website and a warning to the rest looking to buy from this website
buening is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.