»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2006, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
freak outcast is on a distinguished road
beverlyhillsliquidators.com Scam or not?!

I want to know if www.beverlyhillsliquidators.com is a scam or not! surely someone can find out something there prices on TVs are good, but i'd like some info on the site so I don't get ripped off.

freak outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 06:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Only contact info from the website is;
Quote:
H & G Company
264 S. La Cienega Blvd. #1220
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Per Whitepages.com;
Quote:
26 Results matching "264 S. la Cienega Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA
None of the listings are for a," H & G Company".

The WhoIs info gives;
Quote:
Registrant:
Theodore Ford
14624 DALEWOOD ST
BALDWIN PARK, California 91706
United States
visiongame@myway.com
(626) 608-6716

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: BEVERLYHILLSLIQUIDATORS.COM
Created on: 11-Oct-06
Expires on: 11-Oct-07
Only registered for one year, myway.com is a free e-mail account, phone number comes back as unlisted, and neither the USPS or whitepages can find the address.

As to the website;
Quote:
We accept checks and money order through postal mail. We also accept cash and credit cards through Western Union’s Direct To Bank option
Note: You can use a CC thru WU only for a cash advance. This will show up as a cash withdraw/advance on your CC statement. Any fraud protection from your CC company ends at this point. WU is not responsible for you sending cash to someone either.
See;http://www.westernunion.com/info/osM...US&language=en
Quote:
3 Your credit card issuer may charge an additional cash advance fee for this service.
A few other things I noticed from the website;
Quote:
To view all available inventory/make purchase, which is generally 75%-off of current retail price
-and-
Beverly Hills Liquidators.com does no stock and inventory.
How can you view stock/inventory that they do not have?

Quote:
We will be hiring five secretaries in the near future to handle the 1,000’s of calls per day we began receiving after our expansion advertising campaign.
-and-
No problem. The order form is not really necessary. It is only there for convince. Just send your order on regular paper if paying with check or money order.
I'll just laugh at the last two parts.
Together with the very poor English and what seems to be a rinky-dink operation, I would stay far, far away.

EDIT;
Found this info on the website also;
Quote:
Name: Herman Maestas
Street Address: 264 S La Cienega Blvd. No. 1220
City: Beverly Hills
State: CA
Zip Code: 90211
Country: United States
Routing Number: 061120000
Account Number: ***************** (edited by me)
Bank Name: Columbus Bank and Trust Company
Hmm, gives you the routing and account numbers for his bank. Does that sound very smart? Posting it on the internet.
Oh, and the bank, http://columbusbankandtrust.com/ is located in Columbus, Georgia. Has a bunch of branches, but all are located in Georgia.
From Google;
Quote:
Search for Bank By Routing Number. Enter the routing number ... 061120000, COLUMBUS BANK & TRUST CO, 1148 BROADWAY, COLUMBUS, GA, 31902-0000

Last edited by nomaxim; 11-27-2006 at 10:10 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
rsullivan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That street address on La Cienega is a United Mailboxes location. No office, just a mailbox rental place.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
freak outcast is on a distinguished road
I was told by one person that they have ordered and recived would it be your guys opinion to stay away or are there any questions I could ask this person that may help shed some more light on this site???
freak outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 05:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
rsullivan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you want to go ahead and order expensive electronics from an entity that just set up shop last month online, only accepts wire transfers for advance payment and is operating out of a rented mail box, you go right ahead. Sounds very safe to me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak outcast View Post
I was told by one person that they have ordered and recived would it be your guys opinion to stay away or are there any questions I could ask this person that may help shed some more light on this site???
Sure, ask him why his bank is located 2,000 miles away?

Everything about that site screams "SCAM".
They sell Apple 60GB iPods for $99, yeah right. The lowest price I can find for one is $230.
Quote:
Over Nine Years Of Service As Rapid Liquidators For Companies Nationwide
The site is a little over a month old and even the BBB has never heard of them.

From Western Union;
Quote:
IMPORTANT CONSUMER INFORMATION!
HELP PREVENT CONSUMER FRAUD!
Quote:
Are you sending money to someone you don’t know or whose identity you can’t verify?
Quote:
Are you responding to an Internet or phone offer that you aren’t sure is honest?
Quote:
If so, stop your transfer immediately,
If it sounds to good to be true, it is.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
catcherscam is infamous around these parts
OMG, if this is not a scam then the moon is made out of green cheese.
catcherscam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
martymall007 is on a distinguished road
Of COURSE,it's a SCAM!

if i were you, go to the nearest Best Buy or retail pc store vs. going to the POST OFFICE MAIL BOX Dude...
martymall007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 09:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
arps789 is on a distinguished road
i send them the check on the nov 24, and still waiting....
hope its not a scam
arps789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 06:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
MxChris is on a distinguished road
Q: What condition is your merchandise in?

A: All of our merchandise is New, still in box from closeouts, overstocked and going out of business companies.


LOL since when is Apple going out of buisness?
MxChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.