»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2006, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
david42 is on a distinguished road
Anyone Heard of these stores?

Has anyone heard of these online stores? I can't seem to find any information on their credibility.

http://www.phxliquidation.com/
http://sky2k.com/shop/index.php

Edit: I ruled out the obvious scam stores, so the two left don't seem that suspicious, but I can't find any reviews on them.


Last edited by david42; 10-20-2006 at 12:41 PM.
david42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 751
twistedbrntucker is on a distinguished road
I do know the address Phoenix Liquidation is also that of an UPS/Mailbox store as well. Strip mall. Might be renting a mailbox from them
1350 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89119

http://www.theupsstore.com/locations...terNum=MBE0097
twistedbrntucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 06:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
A reverse address look-up with http://www.whitepages.com/10001/reverse_address shows a lot of company's at this address;
Quote:
matching "1350 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV"
37 phone listings
29 non-published phone listings
of the 37 listed 'Phoenix Liquidation' is not one of them. Ups/Mailbox is.
The WhoIs info shows;
Quote:
Registrant:
Phoenix Liquidations
1350 E. Flamingo Rd
Las Vegas, Nevada 89119
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: PHXLIQUIDATION.COM
Created on: 03-Aug-06
Expires on: 03-Aug-07
Last Updated on: 03-Aug-06

Administrative Contact: phoenix liquidations @ gmail.com
1350 E. Flamingo Rd
Las Vegas, Nevada 89119
United States
7025056961
SSL Cert: secureecn118.websitecomplete.com expires in 647 days
Only registered for one year and to a free gmail account.
No Suite# so the address is incomplete.
The SSL cert. seems to be good though.
The phone number 7025056961 also seems to be unlisted.
Quote:
(702) 505-6961 is a land line based in Las Vegas, NV
The registered service provider is Level 3 Communications**.
Detailed listing information is not available.
Otherwise, I found this with Google searching for "Phoenix Liquidations". with quotes, if its the same people then they sell on E-Bay. (99.0% postive, but not much in the last year.) And if you remove the 's' and search again I found this; http://sg.answers.yahoo.com/question...5093209AAnAu3s
Quote:
I'm trying to locate a business: Phoenix liquidation Co 1350 E. Flamingo Rd Suite #628 Las Vegas, NV?
NOTE that this was posted 4 months ago on Yahoo, about a month before the site was up.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
As for http://sky2k.com/shop/about_us.php
From the website;
Quote:
All orders and transactions involving release of personal information is encrypted using the latest 128-bit SSL encryption technology.
Yet the WhoIs info shows;
Quote:
Domain Name.......... sky2k.com
Creation Date........ 2006-01-15
Registration Date.... 2006-01-15
Expiry Date.......... 2007-01-15
SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host

Organisation Name.... Sky Nation
Organisation Address. PO Box 46556
Organisation Address. Pro Agincourt Mall
Organisation Address. Scarborough
Organisation Address. M1T 3V8
Organisation Address. Ontario
Organisation Address. CANADA

Admin Name........... Frank Williams
Admin Address........ PO Box 46556
Admin Address........ Pro Agincourt Mall
Admin Address........ Scarborough
Admin Address........ M1T 3V8
Admin Address........ Ontario
Admin Address........ CANADA
Admin Email.......... admin @ sky2k.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.4166710342
Again, only registered for one year and to a PO Box, but they have no SSL.
None of the 'Verified by' links work and according to http://www.positivessl.com/
and
http://www.truste.org/
Those links should be active.
In fact http://www.truste.org/about/member_list.php#S shows that they are not an active member of Truste.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
ILIA170 is on a distinguished road
I too found a listing from them in craigslist that sounds too good to be true but I am skeptical. I've been doing research on them and have found nothing credible. Did you purchase anything from them and how was the transaction?
ILIA170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
damsonlee is on a distinguished road
better to stay away from both. Both are PR0 which means the low popurality online.

*rem* - No advertising allowed. -Lara RR, ResellerRatings.com Staff
damsonlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 05:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by damsonlee View Post
better to stay away from both. Both are PR0 which means the low popurality online.


*rem* - No advertising allowed. -Lara RR, ResellerRatings.com Staff
From RR's FAQ's
Quote:
Members will not post for-profit personal referrals, advertisements, chain letters, pyramid schemes, spam, solicitations, or contests involving prizes not pre-approved by the ResellerRatings staff. Those seeking to advertise at ResellerRatings should contact the proper staff member for additional information.
Are you trying to advertise your own site on here. If so then I would consider both your posts SPAM.

Last edited by nomaxim; 11-03-2006 at 05:41 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
david42 is on a distinguished road
Update: I received an order from sky2k.com fine (although shipping was very long). However, I did not order from phxliquidation and was probably right in not doing so. I found the following scam warning on crag list:
http://sandiego.craigslist.org/ele/229634477.html
Looks like they're a scam.
david42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 07:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Tendoboy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by david42 View Post
Update: I received an order from sky2k.com fine (although shipping was very long). However, I did not order from phxliquidation and was probably right in not doing so. I found the following scam warning on crag list:
http://sandiego.craigslist.org/ele/229634477.html
Looks like they're a scam.
I am nervous about ordering from them too. I did placed an order today for a couple of cables. How long did it take to get your order from sky2k??? and is what you ordered the brand and model on the site???
Tendoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Peter Cornstalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In My House
Posts: 267
Peter Cornstalk is on a distinguished road
Well sky2k.com also talks like they are a huge company but they use osCommerce which is slow, insecure, amateurish code. They also use PayPal only for credit card transactions which pretty much rules out they do enough business or have the credentials to get a real Merchant Account. They claim to be established in 1999 but the domain name was registered only about a year ago. This company is probably a guy eating Cheeto's in his basement that can drop ship electronics from a warehouse. I wouldn't expect quick customer service from them or that they might not just disappear one day without fulfilling orders.

Last edited by Peter Cornstalk; 01-04-2007 at 12:05 AM.
Peter Cornstalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.