»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2006, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
lvnina is on a distinguished road
Electronics Computer Buy = EdShop Online Electronics?

EdShop (http://www.edshop-electronics.com/) is listed in the list of scam stores, Electronics Computer Buy (http://www.electronicscomputerbuy.com/) is very similar to EdShop, both are located in the UK and the States (addresses don't match but still...), and only accept Western Union as payment for otherwise high-priced items (that are ridiculously cheap in their stores - e.g. Panasonic TH-42PX600U Plasma for $1,120/$1,280) - no tax, free shipping.

www.electronicscomputerbuy.com was just registered (2006-09-24), and yes, the names (addresses) of the admins are very similar as well.

My $0.02: add them to the list!

lvnina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
The WhoIs info for both sites is the same except for the names and dates.
Whois Record for Electronicscomputerbuy.com;
Quote:
Domain Name.......... electronicscomputerbuy.com
Creation Date........ 2006-09-24
Registration Date.... 2006-09-24
Expiry Date.......... 2007-09-24
Organisation Name.... Jasmine Calix
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Whois Record for Edshop-electronics.com;
Quote:
Domain Name.......... edshop-electronics.com
Creation Date........ 2006-07-01
Registration Date.... 2006-07-01
Expiry Date.......... 2007-07-01
Organisation Name.... Eddie Diamond
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
The address in Emeryville CA. is a private registration service (dailypaidprofit), no way to tell who really owns either site.

Last edited by nomaxim; 10-01-2006 at 09:34 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 30
master00 is on a distinguished road
They always use stolen credit card information to pay for hosting/domain and shopping.com services. And the thing is that the scammers are not even in those country, US, UK, etc.

Have you asked yourself why they don't accept to talk on the phone?
You can find many services on the net offering tool-free numbers but why these scammers don't use them? To pay for those services is easy for them , because they can use the same credit card they paid for hosting and domain but they are not doing it. Why?!
Here's the answer:
When I have time, I start emailing them, telling that I'm very interested to buy something and the method of payment is okay for me. At this point, some of them become really excited and sometimes they even forget to hide their IP's. I have received many replies from Romania, and that makes me think that the scammers are from countries like Romania, otherwise I can't explain myself how somebody from US or UK doesn't know how to correctly write an email. And that's why they can't use the phone, because they aren't in those countries specified on their websites.

Now, probably you will ask how they can pick up the money?
That's very simple! Visiting some underground IRC channels or forums like darkmarket.ws, you will understand how simple it is. There you will find guys who can do that job, there you will find guys who will sell you stolen credit card information for few bucks, and many many other things....
master00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
jpl1079 is on a distinguished road
I found superdigialmall.com on froogal selling the Panasonic TH-42PX600U Plasma for $1,120.

Their whois info looks familiar...

Domain Name.......... superdigitalmall.com
Creation Date........ 2006-10-03
Registration Date.... 2006-10-03
Expiry Date.......... 2007-10-03
Organisation Name.... Hannah Mears
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
jpl1079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.