 | |
09-30-2006, 11:55 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
| » 
Bestpricecamera.com
This merchant just ripped me off for $2600.00. I realized what I had done right after I gave them my card number; they started baiting me and switching the stuff I had ordered. They refused to let me cancel. They sent everything by next day air. When I called to get a return authorization number they refused to give me one. The gear that I got was off brand, third party junk. They added another $200.00 to my credit card, above what I thought I was paying. There was never a receipt, an order number, an invoice or anything. Now I am dealing with my credit card company. I sent everything back to them but they will proably say they did not get it. I have tracking numbers though. This company just wants card numbers and they will just charge your card and give you generic junk instead. They said that they always win their disputes with Visa. Any suggestions about what I can do. $2600.00 is a lot of money for nothing. I was so so stupid. I thought that I could save a few hundred dollars.
|
| |
10-01-2006, 02:03 AM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: May 2002 Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
|
Welcome to RR. http://bestpricecamera.com/ seems to be a search site. You search for a item and the site supplies links to merchants and other sites like E-bay and Pricescan. Quote: |
go ahead and browse our comprehensive resource directory
| I cannot find that they sell anything. They would not be any more liable for your purchase then ResellerRatings or Pricegrabber would if you used those to search for an item.
More info like, what did you buy and from what merchant/seller is needed?
Last edited by nomaxim; 10-01-2006 at 02:10 AM.
|
| |
10-02-2006, 12:55 AM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
|
Bestpricecamera.com
there is a website for bestpricecameras.com with a phone number. That is the phone number that I called. A man named John answered the phone and he is the one who got my card number (my stupid mistake) and scammed me. I have called that number several times and reached a number that answered as best price camera. That is all that I have. See next note below.
Larry
Last edited by lgasaway; 10-02-2006 at 01:11 AM.
|
| |
10-02-2006, 01:10 AM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
|
Bestpricecamera.com
I just checked the web site again. It is listed as Best Price camera.com. There are three phone numbers. (718)- 306-1554 and 800-281-1724 and 800-281-1823. They give a 11223 zip code and that checks out. I had to do a search for "nikon d00" to find the web site again. I have saved the site on my favorites now. But I see what you mean. This is the address that I got at their site. But their site is called Best Price Cameras http://www.bestpricecameras.com/prod...OVMTC=standard
I bought, or at least thought that I was buying a Sony A100 camera, a 2.8 18-200 high quality Sony lens, a Sony flash, a 4 GB high quality, fast Lexor card, a set of filters, and (stupid me) a 5 year warranty. What I got was a Sony camera in an already opened (not factory) box, no flash, no Sony lens, no Sony flash; a cheap generic battery and a cheap generic filter.
Last edited by lgasaway; 10-02-2006 at 01:27 AM.
|
| |
10-02-2006, 01:23 AM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
|
Best Price Camera
You got me to doing more research. Their mailing address is
BestPriceCameras.com
1938 McDonald Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11223
800-281-1724
718-998-2975
800-281-1823
|
| |
10-02-2006, 06:59 AM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: May 2002 Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
|
This is why it is always a good idea to post a link.  Two different sites with a similar name, one has a 's' on the end.
bestpricecamera.com
bestpricecamera s.com
Anyhow, a quick use of the search function, for the site with a 's' at the end finds; http://www.resellerratings.com/forum...iceCameras.com (Question on 'Best Price Cameras') http://www.resellerratings.com/seller8754.html Quote:
Customer Satisfaction
Six-Month Rating: 0.30
| Also the BBB Report. Quote:
Principal: Zaki Saideh, Owner
Phone Number: (718) 373-3456
Additional Phone Numbers:
(718) 373-3652 (800) 281-1724 (800) 593-0026
(718) 627-6066 (718) 627-7245 (800) 280-9096
(718) 781-7727 (718) 306-1540 (718) 627-6556
(800) 281-1418 (800) 919-9005 (800) 280-9396
(917) 803-2223 (718) 998-9130 (718) 998-2975
Website: www.bestpricecameras.com
Type of Business: Photographic Equipment & Supplies-Retail
Membership Status: This company is not a member.
Based on BBB files, this business has an unsatisfactory record with the Bureau, because there is a pattern of complaints, and the business has not corrected the underlying reason for the complaints.
| They have had 247 complaints in the last year. Quote:
This firm also does business under the following names. This is not necessarily a complete list.
Best Stop Camera
Century 21
Hello Camera
Infiniti Cameras
Infiniti Photo
Infinity Cameras
J&K Cameras, Inc.
Mr. Accessory
Regency Camera
Regency Photo & Video, Inc
This firm also does business at the following locations.
195 Avenue U
Brooklyn, NY 11223
196 Avenue U
Brooklyn, NY 11223
| Looks like you have run across one of the nets famous "New York Camera Stores"
I take it you have tried doing a charge back with your CC company? This may not work as you have received goods. Can't hurt too try thou.
First off file a complaint with the BBB. https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/GetStarted.aspx
Give them time to deal with it. A coulpe weeks.
Then if you are still not happy try the New York AG's office. http://www.oag.state.ny.us/
Good luck and keep us posted.
Oh, and welcome to RR.
EDIT:
Also, YGPM.
Last edited by nomaxim; 10-02-2006 at 07:19 AM.
|
| |
10-02-2006, 11:18 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
|
Wow, You are good
I just say, Wow, you are a great help. I did not even know where to begin to get this kind of information. I am making a copy of your information and taking it to my Visa account advisor. This information will be most helpful. I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your help.
Larry Gasaway
|
| |
10-02-2006, 11:58 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: May 2002 Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
|
There's alot more if you just search for "bestpricecameras" (remove the quotes) on Google. Google
41 pages worth at the moment.
Edit:
You could try these guys, a link to them here at RR. Rating 9.6 B&H Photo
You can also use RR's 'Compare Prices' link at the top of the page, or here; http://shop.resellerratings.com/~linkin_id-3058800
Last edited by nomaxim; 10-02-2006 at 12:08 PM.
|
| |
10-02-2006, 07:22 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
|
bestpricecameraS.com
BestPriceCameras.com
I guess I've joined the club...scammed into buying more...shame on me.
BUT, the same day I ordered the product from bestpricecameras.com an account was opened at PayPal in my name with my address and card #. The next day PayPal charged my card for $1450 for "misc professional services". bestpricecameras.com not only scams their customers, they(or some employee) steals the customer's identity to make fraudulent purchases (see http://www.resellerratings.com/selle...1-html#reviews)
I can only blame myself for allowing this company to do a bait and switch on me, however, I do blame this company for promoting/allowing identity theft!
Today I registered a complaint with the Federal Trade Commision Identity Theft department naming BestPriceCameras as the thief.
I reported this incident to PayPal and today filled out an affidavit naming BestPriceCameras.com as the thief.
Tomorrow I will visit the NJ State Police to register a complant against BestPriceCameras.com for idenitity theft.
And, I will seek counsel to persue legal actions against BestPriceCameras for violating their privacy policy.
I suggest anyone that has their identity compromised by BestPriceCameras.com to contact the FTC, their local police, and legal advice on punishing BestPriceCameras.com on violating their privacy policy.
|
| |
10-06-2006, 12:10 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
|
fsn, good luck old boy and give those scumbags HELL!!!!!!!!
|
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | Most Active Discussions  | | | | | Recent Discussions  | | | | | |