»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2006, 05:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
savvygeeks is on a distinguished road
Found another scam artist

i got an email saying they need resellers so i went to their site and their prices are excellent. i emailed back asking if they receive credit cards and they replied back saying they were victim of credit card fraud and they do not take credit cards. now let me ask you people with common sense, does this sound a little odd? check their site out. http://www.worldidmedia.com

savvygeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 06:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Sure looks that way.
Besides the no CC part;
Site gives
Quote:
Via Antonio Provolo 8
Zip Code: 37123
Verona, Italy
or
14 Saffron Close
Zip Code: LU2 7GF, Luton
Bedfordshire, UK
+39.045.576592
WhoIs gives
Quote:
20059 NORTHMOOR
JOHNSTOWN,CO
80534
UNITED STATES
Creation Date........ 2006-06-05
Registration Date.... 2006-06-05
Expiry Date.......... 2007-06-05
Quote:
Minimum order is $1500.
And you'll just love this part. A reverse look-up of the phone number says;
Quote:
Italy
Vatican city
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 06:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
savvygeeks is on a distinguished road
forgot to mention. i did a whois and this is what comes up. LOL. look at the creation and expiration date of the site. now why in hell would a legitimate business not register for at least 5-10 years? also, these guys are supposed to be in europe and what's up with colorado and the phone number being an international number. too flaky. also this site is too similar to beticaelectronica.com which is a known scam site.

WHOIS information for worldidmedia.com:

[whois.melbourneit.com]

Domain Name.......... worldidmedia.com
Creation Date........ 2006-06-05
Registration Date.... 2006-06-05
Expiry Date.......... 2007-06-05
Organisation Name.... BARBARA K DING
Organisation Address. 20059 NORTHMOOR
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. JOHNSTOWN
Organisation Address. 80534
Organisation Address. CO
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... BARBARA K DING
Admin Address........ 20059 NORTHMOOR
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ JOHNSTOWN
Admin Address........ 80534
Admin Address........ CO
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... angelholg@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.3612946345
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

Last edited by savvygeeks; 09-22-2006 at 06:37 AM.
savvygeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 07:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
That's why I left the name from WhoIs out of my post. More likely that is stolen CC info or just a name that was picked out of the phone book.

In other words its fake/fraudulent info.

The phone number on the website is for the Pope, the whoIs info gives a mailing address in CO, with a phone number in S Texas: Corpus Christi, Area code 361. Also note that the contact info in the WhoIs is a yahoo e-mail addy. Free e-mail account.
EDIT:
A hint, any phone number that begins with a +1 is a US number.
http://www.countrycallingcodes.com/ to look up phone numbers and calling codes worldwide.

Last edited by nomaxim; 09-22-2006 at 07:28 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
savvygeeks is on a distinguished road
i tried the phone number just for giggles and guess WHAT? it's not even an active phone number. i hope these f*ckers fry in hell dude.

Last edited by savvygeeks; 09-22-2006 at 08:12 AM.
savvygeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 751
twistedbrntucker is on a distinguished road
Could this be our old buddy Mr Andrews aka David Whitaker aka Slade Austin from Coyotego/Mixitforme.com ?
twistedbrntucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 02:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedbrntucker View Post
Could this be our old buddy Mr Andrews aka David Whitaker aka Slade Austin from Coyotego/Mixitforme.com ?
I'd say no. Completly different profile. This is more like the Venco Electronica, PLESTER e-SHOP, or Quantum Shop type. Different website layout from any of the sites that I've seen lately.
Not a very good job either. Notice that the host is a Yahoo server. Which means that they won't be up for long, Yahoo will pull the site once they start getting complaints.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 06:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
cisco1 is on a distinguished road
www.ukih2k.net & www. WORLDIDMEDIA.COM are the same and they all scam

I just receive an advertize leter from scam artist name Val, email: i-wholesale@snet.net promote his new wholesales webpage www.ukih2k.net in UK. I think they are the same group who had created WWW.WORLDIDMEDIA.COM. Check out their ad leter below.

"
Hello
I\'m sorry for disturbing you ,my name is Val and i own a
electronics business in UK.I got your email from one of your ebay
actions,and i was wondering if
you\'re interested to resell/buy my products,i have very good prices:

MP3 Players:

Apple Ipod Nano 4gb- only 64 euro (~ 85 us$)
Apple Ipod 80gb- only 149 euro (~ 199 us$)

DESKTOPS:
Apple Power Mac G5 Dual 2ghz - ONLY 599 euro (~ 800 us$)
Apple IMac 20\'\'-2.0 ghz intel core duo -ONLY 399 EURO ( ~ 508 us$)

LAPTOPS:
Apple IBook G4 14\'- 1.42 ghz- ONLY 299 EURO (~ 399 us$)
Sony VAIO BX540 - ONLY 699 euro (~ 930 us$)

CAMERAS:
Sony Cyber Shot DSC-R1 10.3MP(body only)- 249 euro (~332 us$)
Nikon D200 10.2MP(body only)- 349 euro (~ 466 us$)

For more info,full price list and descriptions please visit my website
http://www.ukih2k .net

All goods are brand new,factory sealed,with warranty from manufacturer.
Thank you for your time,
Val "

WHOIS information for www.ukih2k.net

Domain Name.......... ukih2k.net
Creation Date........ 2007-05-21
Registration Date.... 2007-05-21
Expiry Date.......... 2008-05-21
Organisation Name.... BRENDA ODHAM
Organisation Address. 8621 PLANTATION LANDING DRIVE
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. WILMINGTON
Organisation Address. 28411
Organisation Address. NC
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... BRENDA ODHAM
Admin Address........ 8621 PLANTATION LANDING DRIVE
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ WILMINGTON
Admin Address........ 28411
Admin Address........ NC
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... ukih2k1@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.4819388322
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
cisco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.
As to http://www.ukih2k.net/ the website 'About Us' page gives;
Quote:
STRATFORD ROAD 9
LONDON
UK
W8 6RF
Phone: +20-83383077
Per countrycallingcodes.com +20 is the code for Egypt. The number in the WhoIs info;4819388322, per bennetyee.org is not a valid area code for N. America, using the country codes site +48 is the code for Poland. As to the address, the USPS says it is a valid address, however whitepages.com reverse address look-up cannot find it and 'Google Earth ' shows a dirt road surrounded by woodlands. So it's a safe bet that the WhoIs info is fake.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 05-22-2007 at 05:32 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 08:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Merchant Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 13
outletpc is on a distinguished road
the site is down...what did they used to do?
__________________
Site:
www.outletpc.com

Knowledge Base:
http://www.outletpc.com/knowledge-base.html
outletpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.