»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Kinky-Reggae-Gal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 2
Kinky-Reggae-Gal is on a distinguished road
Quantum-Products-Shop.com

Ive done a lot of research trying to find a good wholesale distributor who also dropships. Does anyone know of any?

Ive also found that all these suppliers in other countries only accept WU transfers and money gram... Has anyone ever dealt with any types of these suppliers and can confirm whether they are a legit company?

Even though sending money WU is extremely risky, there may actually be a legit company out there... we just have to dig until we find them.

I know there is already a couple posts about this website, but I wanted to share with you what I found. I came across www.quantum-products-shop.com and nearly pooped myself when I saw their prices - They are too good to be true! I was about to make a very large bulk order after seeing that they would give me a 15% discount if I bought 10 or more items with free express shipping. I got to the checkout page and saw that they only accept WU transfers and credit cards from Ireland residents only. That was a HUGE red flag to me, but I was curious to see what would happen so I submitted my order.

Yesterday, I received the invoice with the payment instructions - Apparently they have to approve the order first and then send you the invoice. This is what the payment instructions were in their invoice:

Quote:
Payment:
------------------------

NOTE: We advise you NOT TO tell at the Western Union office that this is the payment for an online purchase, because you will be charged with some extra fees when sending the wire transfer. If they ask you anything just tell them that you are sending money to a friend.

The first thing to do is indicate to whom you're sending the payment. This will be done in the name of our sales manager Mr. Adam Wilkes. Here is all the info you'll need:

Name: Adam Wilkes
Address: 70 Oxford St. (NOT necessary if you pay online)
City: London
Zip: W1D 1BP
Country: United Kingdom (UK)

How to make the payment:
-----------------------------------------

1. Whether you prefer to send cash at a Western Union® Agent location, call 1-800-CALL-CASH or send the payment online, the choice is yours:

a) The Western Union Money Transfer® service offered at westernunion.com accepts Visa or MasterCard credit or debit cards. On Western Union's page, click on Send Money Online -> Send Now -> Money Transfer -> Money in Minutes (SEND TO AGENT LOCATION).
Direct link: WesternUnion.com - Money in Minutes

b) Western Union's 1-800-CALL-CASH number. The convenience of sending payments is only a phone call away. Customer Service representatives will assist you with all the details and your payment will be on the way quickly. The money transfer services offered via the telephone accepts payments with Discover, Visa or MasterCard credit or debit cards.

P.S. Western Union participates in the Verified by Visa and MasterCard SecureCode®, to help prevent unauthorized use of cards online- and for online fraud.

c) Go directly to any Western Union Office and pay with cash. It's as simple as filling up a form with your personal details and the receivers details.

2. E-Mail (scan, photo-copy or e-receipt) us the Western Union receipt at payment@quantum-products-shop.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Advantages of the Western Union Money Transfer® service :

- years of experience in the Money Transfer business
- locations worldwide in more than 186 countries
- funds available within minutes worldwide
- always local currency (usually cash)
- easy: no bank accounts or lengthy procedures
- reliable - proven track record
- convenient - open 7 days a week, 24 hours a day
- high level of security - authorized users only

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shipping will be made via UPS and you'll get the product(s) in 2-5 business days (depending on the shipping method). To complete this transaction, please confirm that you can make the payment in the next 24-36h, so you can receive the UPS Tracking Number prior to shipping (available for all International Orders). We will ship the products immediately after we have payment confirmation from Western Union.

Thanks again for choosing our services.

Sincerely,
Jason Gage - Billing Department
Quantum-Products-Shop.com
I did some more digging and found that in their checkout for Ireland customers paying via credit card, although they state your checkout is secure with the TurboSSL logo, there is no SSL Secured "pad lock" icon at the bottom right of the window which means it is NOT a secure transaction. They also have the Safe Shopping Network logo on their website stating that they have verified the Quantum Products Shop but when I click on the link, it is an invalid page - They aren't even listed on their actual website when I tried to search for them. I think that if they don't accept any credit cards or checks from international buyers, then at least accept paypal or bidpay if they are a legitimate company since those payment cover unauthorized or fraudulent transactions and they would be protected.

If they can provide valid proof that they are a legit company, then I may consider them... but that's only a MAYBE! If anyone else has dealt with them before, please let me know... I'm anxious to find someone who has!

Are there ANY honest people left??
:: sigh ::

Kinky-Reggae-Gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
From http://www.westernunion.com/info/fraudindex.asp;
Quote:
Never send money to a stranger using a money transfer service.
Since you have to ask then you do not know these people.
Other tips from http://www.westernunion.com/info/fraudtips.asp
Quote:
If an offer sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
Quote:
Discontinue any transaction if someone coaches you on how to respond to questions asked by Western Union. This is a sure sign of fraud.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Payment:
NOTE: We advise you NOT TO tell at the Western Union office that this is the payment for an online purchase, because you will be charged with some extra fees when sending the wire transfer. If they ask you anything just tell them that you are sending money to a friend.
They want you to lie??? Of course the fact that they may be listed by WU as a fraud has nothing to do with that statement.

Quote:
Q: Are you sending money to someone you don’t know well or whose identity you can’t verify?
A: If yes, STOP your transfer immediately! You may be at risk for consumer fraud. Call Western Union at 1-800-325-6000 if you suspect that your transaction was fraudulent and for more information. If your money has not been picked up yet, it will be returned to you.
Western Union will not refund you in any way once the money (cash) is picked up, and your CC company will consider this a cash withdraw, again no protection from fraud. Using WU is no different then sending cash via the postal service.
See also;http://www.resellerratings.com/forum...1&postcount=11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmattp
Keep an eye out for Quantum Products Store. Same deal, cheap prices and western union wire transfers only to the UK. Tried to call customer support numbers overseas and only got the fax machine. Considered ordering, but was told by both my credit card company and western union that this is more likely a scam and not a legit business. BEWARE!!!!!
EDIT;
Oh, the WhoIs info;
Quote:
Quantum Products Shop
+1. 3536335273 Phone
+1. 3536335273 Fax
22 Upper Rathmines Rd.
IRELAND Indiana 47545
United States
http://www.godaddy.com/gdshop/regist...isc=goox2001au
Quote:
Registration Private (Domains by Proxy, Inc.)
Updated Date: 13-jun-2006
Creation Date: 13-jun-2006
Expiration Date: 13-jun-2011
http://www.internic.net/whois.html
Private registration, area code in Wisconsin (region unknown,http://www.cs.ucsd.edu/users/bsy/area.html), and as for the mailing address in IN, per the USPS;
Quote:
We're sorry! We were unable to process your request.
The address was not found.
and the zip code comes back as,
Quote:
PO Box Only – This ZIP Code is for a specific PO Box.
The zip code 47545 is for Ireland, Indiana. http://zip4.usps.com/zip4/citytown.jsp
The site gives this phone number 353-1-6335273 the proper format for a call to Ireland from the US is '011+353+1+number' from the Uk is 00+353+1+number
The number in the WhoIs info is a US number format '00+1 (Area Code)prefix-number'.
http://www.countrycallingcodes.com/

My take is that all the contact info for this site is fake. Very good job of faking tho, give them that.
Sorry this took so long. I'm at work right now and had to keep running off to well... work.
When I get home maybe I'll start looking through 'Google Earth' and provide pictures.

Last edited by nomaxim; 09-05-2006 at 01:29 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 AM.