»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2006, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Night82 is on a distinguished road
How about elettro-ok.com?? (and Venco Electronica, electronics-4sale.com, Anekautama)

Prices are very very good. Resellerratings.com hasn't any comments on it yet. It could be a cheat.. The minimum amount of the shopping cart is 699$ and you have to pay before to receive the objects.

What about??

Night82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
Contact Us
http://elettro-ok.com/contact_us.php


Elettro-Ok
Themistokleous 33
Athens, 151 22
Greece.

Calle Herrero 20
Castellón de la Plana, 12002
Castellón
Spain.

35 Kritonos Street
Glyfada, Athens 166 75
Greece
Steve R Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
rodgermat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 61
rodgermat is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night82
Prices are very very good.............
Yes. Depends where you live maybe?
If I lived in Greece or Spain, I'd maybe consider them. A Canon EOS 30D for $1,000 sounds good. But to spend that amount and getting a "grey market" camera is not so good. I assume it would be a far fetch to get it repaired in the US if needed. So for me elettro-ok.com is a no-go

Maybe you're close to the stores Night82. That might make a difference, but I'd take a cautious approach
rodgermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 06:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
lorian is on a distinguished road
I, too, found elettroc-ok.com a couple of days ago, and was mesmerized by their prices. But after some research I came up with this:

- (Nearly) All the google results for "elettro ok" point to price-comparison sites. It seems at least weird that there is *no other reference* to the shop besides these sites

- The google results that don't fit the above mentioned sites are for 2 forums: this very same thread and this other one at slickdeals.net, where someone wonders, too, if the business is legit

- Like someone says on that thread, the address they have for Spain (Calle Herrero 20, Castellón de la Plana, Castellón, 12002, Spain) is an hotel, and they don't have a phone number -- they just claim to contact you if you send them yours through e-mail

- The WHOIS information for their domain says the following:
Quote:
Domain Name: ELETTRO-OK.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net
Referral URL: http://domainhelp.tucows.com
Name Server: NS1.HOSTCENTRIC.COM
Name Server: NS2.HOSTCENTRIC.COM
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 08-apr-2006
Creation Date: 02-apr-2006
Expiration Date: 02-apr-2007
This seems too weird, especially considering that, on their site, they claim that:
Quote:
Copyright © 2002-2006 Elettro-Ok Inc.
and
Quote:
Elettro-Ok has been in business since early 2002 and we are one of the world's largest stocking vendors of new computer equipment, peripherals and electronics.
- Even though it seems to do business mostly (if not only) online and have such impressive prices, there isn't a single review on all those price-comparison sites returned by google. All the costumer testimonials for the site are to be found on the site itself

- They don't accept paypal or credit cards, or orders below 700 USD

- Too good to be true conditions: amazing prices, free shipping for select products (even though it was free for *all* the products that I have tested, and regardless of the country it would be delievered to), quick shipping, ships to (almost?) every single country in the world, keeps all warranties, no sales tax, etc.

Unfortunately, it totally seems like a scam. Who should we contact for legal action to be taken upon them? (or to make sure that it is, in fact, legit, which I don't believe one bit)
lorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
lalalabogos is on a distinguished road
Yes he is right I used the same path to verify this company !!
lalalabogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 12:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
spacecadet is on a distinguished road
Disabled

Now hostcentric has pulled the website

http://www.hostcentric.com/templates...er=hoc.elettro
spacecadet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
fairbanks is on a distinguished road
Elettro-OK

Has anyone else been taken by this company. I looked then up and found them on 2 or 3 searches including Netscape comparison site and asked Quinlin {In E-Mails} how they did business and they said Drop Shipping from US distributors for orders from here.
This makes me very leary of ordering anything from the internet again

Artie
fairbanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 06:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
This company has now changed its name to venco electronica, http://www.resellerratings.com/forum...d.php?t=119125 (venco electronica: WARNING!)
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 10:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
We have nothing like this at RR, but thewholesaleforums has moved this company to the, "Name and Shame" thread.

That means, don't buy from them.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 04:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Admin RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,601
Admin RR is on a distinguished road
This appears to be a scammer that keeps setting up sites under different names and then advertising their products in the price search engines. They don't appear to be a legit merchant whatsoever. Each time they get shut down they open under a new name.

Red flags are: a merchant that only accepts payment by Western Union, located oversees or in sketchy countries, or who requires a minimum order amount, DO NOT do business with them.

Another to watch out for that is oversees and only accepts Western Union: PowerSeller Electronics (electronics-4sale.com)

NEVER EVER buy online using Western Union, bank transfer, check, or any other form of cash. Always use a credit card (not debit), Visa, MC, or Amex. If you don't receive your goods, you can dispute the charge with the card company and get your money back. NOT SO with Western Union. If the merchant only accepts Paypal (a red flag in our opinion but proceed as desired) use a credit card to fully fund the Paypal purchase as it offers the most protection.
Admin RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 AM.