»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2006, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Rothie is on a distinguished road
Outdoors wawadigital.com

Absolute SCAM!
I just found this site-resellerratings-AFTER my earlier experience wawadigital.My experience mirrors all the posts I have read here.It's bait and switch.First the high pressure phone calls to buy seriously overpriced accessories.Then,finally an admission that the camera is actually refurbished.They said they were cancelling my order,but I haven't received a confirmation.Now they have my credit card number and personal info.
I filed a complaint with my state Attorney General.Please do the same.This place needs to be shut down.

Rothie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
calb42 is on a distinguished road
I should have read your review a little sooner (03/26/06)when i got on this site,or should i say( sorry sight) .when i said i didn't want or need anything extra they told me the price i was paying was for a refurbished camera and it would be $80.00 more for a new one,hung up on me and cancelled the internet sale without my saying.although i would have cancelled anyway.i hope this may help someone along the way.
calb42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Rothie is on a distinguished road
File a complaint.The more they get,the sooner the state can hopefully do something.It only took me a couple of minutes to file the complaint online.It has to be filed with NY state.
webmaster@smtpgw.oag.state.ny.us
Rothie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Greg P is infamous around these parts
PLEASE watch your credit card statement!

I had the same experience with wawadigital that many complain of - order camera, sales call, bait and switch, then they cancel order if you refuse to buy expensive accessories. However I got really nervous when I started reading about the credit card fraud issues that people were having after ordering from wawadigital. I immediately called my credit card company and put it on fraud alert. Well, just like clockwork, my credit card company calls to tell me that someone is attempting to process a fraudulent charge from Mauritania (a small island in the Indian Ocean, in case you were wondering). I've had the same credit card for 14 years and never one fraudulent charge - till now. Fortunately we rejected the charge, canceled the card, and moved on, but PLEASE be forewarned.
Greg P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Ronald G is on a distinguished road
Wawadigitel

I ordered a Canon SD500 camera and they informed me that it was a refurbished camera at the low price and it would cost and additional $75 for a new camera. They asked about accessories and I said "no" and it was not mentioned again. The only problem I had was that I paid for Second Day Airmail and the camera shipped UPS ground......it took a week. I still got the camera at a excellant price.
I read the reviews after I ordered the cam and I was very worried for a while, but they delivered the product.
Ronald G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
ObserveAndReport is on a distinguished road
Beware Wawadigital, The Camera Wiz, Stargate Photo

(Apparently these people also operate "The Camera Wiz" and "Stargate Photo." Any others?)

DO NOT order from the web page or provide information over the internet to these folks first. One, you really want to stay clear of this merchant unless you have a credit/bank account that can give you a unique account number for each transaction such that any other use of that account number automatically fails. Two, call from a telephone that is not your home or cell, get an absolute confirmation that the item you want is in stock and can be shipped immediately before giving any personal or payment information.

My story: I recently finished ordering an item online from Wawadigital. But wait; there was a surprise!

Nowhere on the web page was anything mentioned about this being a refurbished or repaired product, not even in the smaller print of the product description near the bottom of the web page.

When I called to confirm the order, I was surprised to be asked, “Why did you order the refurbished model?” When I told them I would accept the refurbished model, they said, “OK.” I also told them I didn’t need a memory card as I was replacing a lost camera and already had memory cards. The salesman accepted my order. About 15 minutes later I received an email: ORDER CANCELLATION.

When I called the ‘customer service’ extension instead of the ‘confirm sales’ extension, guess what? I’m talking to the same salesman. When I pointed out that his web site indicated ‘In Stock: Yes’ and that during the ‘confirmation call’ he said, “Yes, we have that camera in stock,” he proceeded to call me a “loser” and followed with expletives.

Is this a business you want to support? These folks erode the confidence of online consumers. Other online businesses should have an organization that will actively police businesses like Wawadigital.com and insert warning banners on any web site the Wawadigital people set up.

The chances of getting your product without overpaying for an accessory are small. Check the prices of memory cards, batteries and other items elsewhere before you agree to Wawadigital prices.

I then called my credit card company. They have had complaints about Wawadigital before. The credit card representative said I should watch my charges closely for unauthorized activity. This is a headache I didn't need.

Do an internet search for Wawadigital and you will find HUNDREDS if not thousands of complaints. One person with a web site claims to have a recording of a Wawadigital representative letting loose with foul language on an answering machine. The recording is posted on the web site for those who are not offended by such language.

Here is the correct web address for complaints to the New York Office of the Attorney General about businesses like Wawadigital: http://www.oag.state.ny.us/online_fo...aint_alert.jsp

Last edited by ObserveAndReport; 05-28-2006 at 04:42 PM. Reason: Additional Information
ObserveAndReport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Terrafirma is on a distinguished road
SCAM

I agree with all I have read. These are scammers. Based on the price of the camera, the 5 star rating, and the "Verisign" emblem I thought that this would be a good company. I called and they kept me on the line quite awhile finally saying they had only one camera left and they were the only place with it. I said fine and said that I wanted it. Then started a high pressure sales pitch about exorbitantly priced accessories that I said I did not want. The guy kept insisting and finally said that OK, he would not sell me the camera. This is the absolutely worst internet sales transaction I have ever had. BEWARE!!!!
Terrafirma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 05:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
You can maybe add a fourth company name;
Quote:
Starlite Camera Inc
295 Avenue O
BROOKLYN, NY 11230
Got that by doing a reverse phone number look-up from the WhoIs info;
Quote:
Domain name: STARGATEPHOTO.COM

Registrant Contact:

eric anderson (mddosk@msn.com)
+1.7186277111
Fax:
295 ave o
brooklyn, ny 11230
US
Quote:
Domain Name: STARLIGHTCAMERAS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
eric anderson
295 ave
BROOKLYN, NY 11230
US
718-627-7111
starlitecamera@aol.com
EDIT: notice that they added a 's' to the end of the website and that postal address numbers jump around.

There's more info here; http://photo.net/neighbor/view-one?s...hbor_id=175629.

Last edited by nomaxim; 06-21-2006 at 05:11 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 AM.