»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2005, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
MrBobLuther is on a distinguished road
thecamerapros.com?

just wondering if anyone has ever delt with thecamerapros.com, i can't seem to find any reviews on them? prices are amazing. too good to be true? please someone let me know before i buy off this website! thanks

MrBobLuther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Firelarz is on a distinguished road
Hi, I just looked at their site, only at a few things that I know the prices of. The prices are ok, not great, but I was looking at the high end stuff. If you are looking for a reliable camera source, go to BHphotovideo.com. I have dealt with them numerous times, and they are one of the top rated in the country. Alot of pros use them also.

Their prices are fair and their knowledge of the products are excellent. If you can go into their store, it is in Manhatten. It is awesome. I spend at least 3hours every time I go in there.

Good Luck
Firelarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 09:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Hasafraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio, Akron-Canton
Posts: 2
Hasafraker is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Hasafraker
I would agree with the first reply, use BHPhoto they're very reputable, also the first thing that should go through your head when you think "these prices are almost too good to be true" is that they aren't. Odds are you're dealing with grey market or bait/switch scammers. Best advice is just deal with the established companies, granted you're not getting some unrealistic "OMG the price is so low!" deal but the peace of mind knowing you're not getting taken for a ride is well worth it imo.
__________________
It's our job to be informed consumers, and to share that experience with others!
Hasafraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
JerryP is on a distinguished road
Mr. Bob,

Did you ever get any info re this store? The price are about too good to be true.

Thanx

Jerry
__________________
Jerrold S. Parker
JerryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
gullible is on a distinguished road
camera pros

I have been eager to buy a good digital camera, and have spent weeks researching which one to buy and looking at various price comparison engines hoping prices would fall after xmas. I know well my photo habits and what equipment needs and accessories I have in mind. I have enjoyed purchasing other goods online and anticipated no particular problems.

Yesterday morning I called Camera Pros to order a relatively high end Sony DSC-R1 and got an email requesting a call to "confirm" my order. I just thought it was a security thing.... but after a tedious run around on hold, I was given a hard sell on accessories I knew I didn't need - my careful research included what Sony ships in the box standard. I was told this camera "does not even come with a battery from the factory" which is NOT true, plus their price to include one was $199! I cancelled the order while on the phone, thought no more of it, and went to the next online seller I had bookmarked, Preferred Photo. There, I again got an automated email asking me to call back and confirm to "expedite" order which will not be "processed" for a minimum of 2 "business days" ; I called them immediately well within the hours posted on the email, got a voice mail saying the store was closed. I sent them an email requesting they cancel my order.

Since then I have read a lot on the web about digital camera scams operating out of Brooklyn, the address of both these stores. I am nervous about both these places having my credit card info. No charges have appeared, but I am worried enough to cancel the card. These businesses may be legit, but the pricing scams are questionable and beyond anything I have dealt with before when purchasing new merchandise on the web. It appears to me that either the merchandise is being opened and stripped of factory accessories, or the "camera alone" is being advertised at a price they have no intention of actually selling it for without tacking onto that price hundreds in markups for the standard minimal "accesories" that are routinely supplied by the manufacturer.

I'm going to save up longer and pay more to buy a good camera at a retail store in person, locally.
gullible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
JerryP is on a distinguished road
I'm also looking for the DSC-R1. I think the price will drop a little after Tuesday.

Jerry
__________________
Jerrold S. Parker
JerryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Firelarz is on a distinguished road
Gullible, good luck with that. I know there are alot in Brooklyn that do some shady things. I live not too far from there and went to buy things in person at a couple of these "stores". Well there was nothing there, or just an office kind of place with no camera stuff there. I would callmy credit card company and tell them if they see a charge from either of the 2 places you went to, not to pay them, and report it as fraud.

I have personally bought from B&H photo many times. They have an awesome store in Manhatten. I know there are others out there that are also reputable.

Good Luck, Larz

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!
Firelarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 09:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
JerryP is on a distinguished road
Only issue with BHPhoto is they are generally a full priced store and that they are charging list price for the DSC-R1.

Jerry
__________________
Jerrold S. Parker
JerryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 09:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Firelarz is on a distinguished road
On the items I have bought from them, I have gotten good prices. Yes they are a full price store, but you also know what you are getting.
Check ebay also if you are looking for better pricing. Just be careful, sometimes it is good and sometimes it is not.
Firelarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 10:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
JerryP is on a distinguished road
There are plenty of really good full prices stores on the web.

There are also plenty of great discount sites as well ie: www.buy.com. There are plenty of others. You might have to wait a few weeks for the item to be allocated to them but if your not in a hurry, it can amount to a big savings.

Sites like the one that hosts this BB are great to keep us from making mistakes. However, this site does have adds from some stores that if we checked we would not purchase from.

Jerry
__________________
Jerrold S. Parker
JerryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.