»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2005, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nodnerb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vegesack, Germany
Posts: 672
nodnerb2 is on a distinguished road
Spanisheshops.com?

Hi,

I got the following e mail at my business e mail adress:

Dear customer,

Unfortunately your card transaction has not been authorized.
Please, specify your transaction number 3051770 (order number 9904716)
dating 24 June 2005 with total amount of 394.00 pounds.
You've specified the following email as reachable.
Please call us at +44-07963318149 for additional information.
You can find the order details at http://spanisheshop.com
Your username is: orengove
And your password is: memazewe.

SpanishShop Team.

The website the link was aimed at can't be found and the sender of the e mail was ksushay@the-evergreen.com. This domain turns out to belong to a catering company in Nthn New Jersey.

I tried to call the number but it goes straight to Virgin Moblie Voicemail and says the mailbox is full.

I have sent Virgin an E Mail advising them of this but not got a reply as yet.


Has anyone had one of these or know what this is about.

__________________
Cheers


Nodnerb2:D
nodnerb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,917
elroy is on a distinguished road
I would guess they either sent the email to you by mistake or when you contact them they will try to get your CC info from you. Either way ignore it.
elroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 11:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bombledmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northwestern MN
Posts: 1,111
bombledmonk is on a distinguished road
Here's the real question... did you order from them. If not ignore it because you are being phished for personal information.
bombledmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nodnerb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vegesack, Germany
Posts: 672
nodnerb2 is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I didn't order anything from them and as I own my own domain name which is not a simple one I guess they got my addy from somewhere.

What makes me wonder is the fact that I used my new Chip and PIN Gold Visa Card down in France last week and now this comes from a supposed Spanish e shop. I just don't get how the domain relates to a catering co in New Jersey, they use a UK Phone number, they don't have a pound symbol key on their PC to type the currency amount( I don't have one on this either).
__________________
Cheers


Nodnerb2:D
nodnerb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 12:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bombledmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northwestern MN
Posts: 1,111
bombledmonk is on a distinguished road
It is a simple spam scheme.... I had dozens of them. They send you something that resembles an invoice or a problem with an order. You call or email them asking about it. They ask you for your CC number and personal information so they can verify the stuff. You get burned. They catch many stupid people this way. You were not one of them.
bombledmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.