 |
04-16-2005, 02:13 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 1,709
| » 
is this for real?
http://193.124.133.92/
seems a little bogus and illegal............maybe a few other things
|
| |
04-16-2005, 03:34 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2001 Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
|
Give em your CC number and find out.
If it sounds too go to be true.................
|
| |
04-16-2005, 08:04 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 984
|
To me it sounds somewhat fishy. Check out this page. Quote:
Why is the software so inexpensive?
We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price. In this situation we are restricted in selling the products for private purposes only! You will not be able to get a technical support and different rebates from the manufacturer. Updates are available for the most of our products (you may ask our support staff for the exceptions) that make them fully functional and operating. Additionally you save the delivery cost.
| |
| |
04-16-2005, 09:39 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
| Quote:
Why is the software so inexpensive?
We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price. In this situation we are restricted in selling the products for private purposes only! You will not be able to get a technical support and different rebates from the manufacturer. Updates are available for the most of our products (you may ask our support staff for the exceptions) that make them fully functional and operating. Additionally you save the delivery cost.
| Note what I've highlighted. It is my experience with software, the LICENSE to use it, is what makes it legal or not, does it not?
|
| |
04-16-2005, 10:38 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2001 Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,917
|
At best I would guess it might be OEM software from an eastern block country. The website has no contact info or location of the company.
|
| |
04-17-2005, 04:45 AM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
|
Looks like a scam, I bet once you downlaod the software it will not work because you dont have the product key.
|
| |
04-17-2005, 10:55 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: yuma, az
Posts: 242
|
WHO THEY ARE!!
Someone thought co was eastern block, so i ran mcafee trace, and shows network: uunetcusc133..ashburn, VA 20147, co uunet tech, inc ph 800/900-0241 and help4u@mci.com.
I never heard of this place before now, and offer this info only as people were wondering, so pls dont ask me any questions, i only traced the 193.124.133.92, tnx Bill
|
| |
04-17-2005, 10:57 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: yuma, az
Posts: 242
|
bump
forgot to bump
|
| |
04-17-2005, 08:50 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 1,709
|
yeah I thought so, but i had to ask...................
thanx everyone
wow my post count here is about half opf what it is at techimo, I thought the two were bonded some how
|
| |
04-18-2005, 04:32 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,656
| Quote: Originally posted by Gait_Keeper yeah I thought so, but i had to ask...................
thanx everyone 
wow my post count here is about half opf what it is at techimo, I thought the two were bonded some how | they were at one time... but when they went seperate... your techimo count stayed the same on both forums... so you post more at techimo and less here, that's why... same with me... |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | Most Active Discussions  | | | | | Recent Discussions  | | | | | |