»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2005, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
geostott is on a distinguished road
Check out this response - do I believeit?

I sent an email(see below) to CentralDigital.com, dbuys.com, ibuydigital.com., ibuyplasma.com, and realdealshop.com, all located at 252 Conover st. Brooklyn, NY. Do I believe their response? After reading my message to them I'm surprised they responded!

From: "sales" <sales@dbuys.com> [Add to Address Book] [View Source]
To: "George"
Subject: Re: Panasonic PV-GS400
Date: Wed, 6 Apr 2005 15:12:15 +0000


1. Yes we really have this camera IN STOCK.
2. You can purchase the camera from any of our sister companies.
3. We do guarantee that this camera is NOT a gray market, international version or factory reconditioned.
4. This camera is from the new batch that Panasonic has released without the problem of the tape transport.
5. This camera is IN STOCK and will ship out within 1 to 2 business days.
6. And we do promise to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth so help us God.

Now to place an order or if you have any other questions please contact Abe at 877-993-2897 ext 227. He'll be glad to assist you with any other information you would want to know.

Thank You
Sales Department

----- Original Message -----
From: George
To: sales@centraldigital.com ; sales@ibuyplasma.com ; sales@ibuydigital.com ; sales@dbuys.com ; sales@realdealshop.com
Sent: Wednesday, April 06, 2005 3:54 AM
Subject: Panasonic PV-GS400


Since you are all at the same location and you all say you have this camera guaranteed in-stock, you are either all lying or all telling the truth. Hmmmmm…

I want to buy this camera but your reseller ratings are questionable to say the least. Even the good ratings are left by someone in the middle of the night over and over again.

How can you be trusted? I’m ready to purchase this camera – the money is burning a hole in my pocket – but B&H, Adorama, Onecall.com, etc., are out as I’m sure you are aware.

Yet, somehow I can’t seem to pull the trigger when it comes to buying it from one of your websites. You would probably do a lot more business if you just did business the right way. I’m sure there are tons of folks like me out here and I’m sure you are losing sales because of your abuse of the buyers trust.

Do you really have the camera?
Who would I buy it from?
Will you guarantee this camera not to be a gray market, international version, or factory reconditioned?
Will you guarantee that the camera is one of the new serial numbers without the tape transport noise problem?
Do you promise that the camera is in stock and will be shipped immediately?
Do you promise to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth so help you God?


If so, maybe I’ll take a gamble and throw down my credit card. I’ll wait for your responses.

geostott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,917
elroy is on a distinguished road
Must be one or the other:
They either don't have it in stock or everyone is afraid to do business with them so they haven't sold out yet.
Your call.............
elroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
geostott is on a distinguished road
Well. I did it.

I called and spoke to Abe there and he assured me they had 11 of the camcorders in stock. I reiterated everthing he wrote to me in his email and he agreed. He told me he would give it to me at the lowest price listed at all the connected websites which was IBUYPLASMA.COM- $1325.00 plus $24.95 shipping. I asked him if I could pick up the camera and he said yes which leads me to believe they have the camera. That was just a test because I'm not driving to Brooklyn from South Jersey and pay NY sales tax. He mentioned a back-up battery and I said no. He didn't push. At the end of the call he asked about a UV filter for $20.00 but I said "no , just the camera". I told him I'm looking forward to giving him good reviews on the sites. He said I should have the camera sometime next week. We'll see how it goes. I'm crossing my fingers and holding my breath.
George Stott
geostott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
geostott is on a distinguished road
Received to camcorder as promised!

Got the camera today - brand new as promised. All that axiety for nothing. I left them an extensive review.
Geostott
geostott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 61
lenjack is on a distinguished road
Terrific story, but is it true? I tend to be cynical about these things. Is the poster legit or might he be a shill for these stores? I've seen that type of thing before. Geostott...forgive my suspicions if this is legit.
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
phanpt is on a distinguished road
I got new GS400, but don't know how to test tape transport sound

I just got an panasonic GS400 from Dbuy.com on
4/11/05 price $1310. I tried to test it, but I didn't know how to know the tape transport noise. I played back and listend to
the sound, and I heard a sound very steady. Additionally, I saw that there was a little black spot inside at the edge of camcorder len. I didn't know it is a defect or it is a tiny screw to assemble inside the len. Can anyone check your camcorder to see whether you get this spot inside your camcorder len or not. I appreciate any hint and info about this tiny spot inside the len.
If any one know a sample of *.wav file to hear the tape transport sound, pleas give me a link. Thank.
phanpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.