»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2005, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
wolfram is on a distinguished road
Applemacshops / Macshoppers are SCAMS

Hi,
If anyone is wondering about the site Applemacshops.com this is a scam.
It is the same scam as
fastmacsales.com,
macgurushop.com,
mac-discounter.com,
macfanaticshop.com,

and now, starting in April...applemaczone.com

also macshoppers.com is the same scam.

and probably some others I don't know about.

They try to get you to wire them money. But you will never see a computer.

wolf.


Last edited by wolfram; 05-26-2005 at 04:05 AM.
wolfram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 11:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
gozmonesser is on a distinguished road
Applemacshops is a legitimate business!

I found a thread on reseller ratings saying that Applemacshops does not exist. This is totally false, and find it funny since I have been buying from Apple Mac Shops for many years now. http://www.applemacshops.com

Applemacshops is a legitimate organization and Jeff Tweed has been so helpfull over the years. I know for sure they have been selling since 1999 because that is the first time I bought from
them through their Mail order Catalog. If you ask me I think someone has it in for them and is trying to ruin their good reputation. I have notified Jeff over at Applemacshops about Resellers postings.

The only time I did have trouble was last year during the Christmas rush when it took over 3 weeks before I got my Powerbook, but Applemacshops made it up for me by giving me a $100 credit on my next purchase. These guys are the best mac resellers I have come across, I hope people stop saying negative things about them.
gozmonesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
wolfram is on a distinguished road
scam site created feb 2005

In business for 6 years???
The site was created Feb 2005.
More like in "business" for one month.

And you can try and try but you will never be able to talk to anyone on the phone. You will always get a voice mail message saying that they cannot take you call because of being over whelmed by their free shipping offer.

You have to fax your credit card info to them, fax? What legit company needs you to fax it? But the funny thing is, if you do fax your credit card, they will e-mail you and say that your credit card was declined. When you call the credit card company, they will tell you that no one has tried to charge the card and that your credit is perfectly fine.
so what gives? The scammer will tell you that you should WIRE them the money. So now you will have no recourse whatsoever. With a credit card you can get your money back. With a wire, no way. They are gone with your money and you will never see a computer.

If you don't believe me, fine.....just talk to someone at the company before you buy and don't wire money to anyone you don't know.

wolf


Last edited by wolfram; 03-18-2005 at 03:42 PM.
wolfram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
acerbro is on a distinguished road
wolfram could be wrong

wolfram:

from the tone in your post I gather you had a bad experience with applemacshops, is this correct? did you wire them money?

just because they don't answer phones does not mean they are not real. if this was true 70% of businesses in america would be scams since many have automated voicemail systems.

i think you are jumping to conclusions.

acer
acerbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
acerbro is on a distinguished road
yup, i think you're jumping the gun here.
acerbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
tradegirlvay is on a distinguished road
APPLEMACSHOPS ROCKS!

I HAVE PURCHASED FROM APPLEMACSHOP MANY TIMES AND NEVER ANY PROBLEMS. AMAZING PRICES. SAVED HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS WITH THEM.
tradegirlvay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 03:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 9
Jedi2155 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Jedi2155
Re: APPLEMACSHOPS ROCKS!

Quote:
Originally posted by tradegirlvay
I HAVE PURCHASED FROM APPLEMACSHOP MANY TIMES AND NEVER ANY PROBLEMS. AMAZING PRICES. SAVED HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS WITH THEM.
All caps?? Saying that you saved hundreds of dollars? First post?

It seems to me that "APPLEMACSHOP" have someone working these forums.....

checked the phone number on BBB.org and it seems that its registered to both Mac Discounter and AppleMacShop. With Mac Discounter being a fraud....i think we know this is probably a fraud as well.

http://www.thebbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=22013372

http://www.thebbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=22011513

Last edited by Jedi2155; 03-18-2005 at 03:27 AM.
Jedi2155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 12:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lara RR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here's some info from WHOIS:

fastmacsales.com = 216.251.32.98
macgurushop.com = 216.251.43.17
mac-discounter.com = 216.251.43.17
Applemacshops.com = 216.251.43.17

According to this Articles Factory article, it appears the telephone number listed for mac-discounter.com matches that of Applemacshops.com's contact page, http://applemacshops.com/contactus.htm

The association has been added to the Apple Mac Shop listing (though mac-discounter.com may no longer be in operation].
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller9693.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
freddeans is on a distinguished road
Systems

just finished submiting an order and faxed my credit card info when i found this post jeeezzzzz

has anyone had anything happen to them other than suspect they are a bad retailer?
freddeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 11:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 357
Eryk is on a distinguished road
i wouldnt be surprised if the people posting on how good applemacshops are legit and good are probably affiliated with the store itself.
Eryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 AM.