»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2004, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Brad Hanson is on a distinguished road
Anyone buy from www.leobarnet.com?

Their URL is http://www.leobarnet.com.

They've got the Canon EOS 20D 17-85 lens kit for $1789. Pretty good price, but as with any Brooklyn based internet retailer I'm a bit skeptical. Website looks very legit. They clearly state on the product page that it's a factory sealed box, and has the full USA Manufacturer's Warranty. They also list the package contents and it shows all the accessories that should come with this kit, including the battery and charger.

They are not listed on http://www.resellerreviews.com so I have no information on them other than their own website.

Anyone have experience with these guys?

Brad Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
whiteknight121 is on a distinguished road
LEOBARNET.COM=stop4camera.com

I was about to order from these people just like you. I did a little bit of detective work and found out that these people are just another Brooklyn store that has come up with a new name.

They told me that they have been in business for over 6 years. On their profile on CNET it says they have been in business for 2 years.

There are several differnet phone numbers for leobarnet and stop4camera.com that ring the same location. They have the same physical address as well. I called during normal business hours and spoke to someone at leobarnet.com; later on in the day I got a message asking to call during normal business hours (Even though I called during that time) and that they were closed. I then called stop4camera.com and got the same exact message (same woman's voice). Stay away from this place. stop4camera does have ratings on resellerratings.com and they are horrible.

I hope you didn't order yet!
whiteknight121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Brad Hanson is on a distinguished road
Thankfully I resisted the temptation of the low price and went with buydig.com instead. buydig has a few issues too, but I've ordered from them before and I at least knew I was going to get my stuff.

I think this is a common practice with shops like LeoBarnet. People catch on to them after awhile so they just change the name of their store, start up a new website, offer a really low price and then suck us all in again.
Brad Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
whiteknight121 is on a distinguished road
Great

I'm glad you resisted. It was difficult for me as I have seen the price of a GS200 sharply rise. I'm kicking myself for not buying one when the prices were low.

I was very skeptical about leobarnet since there was hardly any info on the net about them except for your question. I'm glad I resisted as well.

There should be more strict criteria before an online shop is given any kind of status on a website as large as CNET.
whiteknight121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
omnpotnt1 is on a distinguished road
Avoid LeoBarnet!!

Leobarnet are Huge liars. I ordered a Camcorder, the panasonic pv-gs200 for $699 plus shipping, totalled at $728. They told me verbally they had it in stock. I called 2 days later to see if it had gone out..they said they had to verify some information first...but they still had it in sotock. They tried selling me 3 or 4 grossly overpriced items....which I declined. I called the next day to see if it had been shipped...and...shockingly..it was out of stock. I called the next day as a new buyer, was told they had it and could ship out that day. I then asked them why they hadn't sent mine. They told me it would go out then. 4 days later...now they say it's not in stock,, unless I call and pretned i'm ordering one, in which case it's in stocki. Avoid these whores..do not shop there..they'll screw you over and over again.
omnpotnt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lara RR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
fyi

LeoBarnet
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller9416.html

has been added to ResellerRatings' database, and customers with legitimate purchase transactions may submit reviews in compliance with our policies:
http://www.resellerratings.com/terms.pl
  Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 AM.