»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2004, 08:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 147
cat1947 is on a distinguished road
Has anyone heard of this software vendor

cheapsoftz.com

Their prices are too good to be true and there doesnt seem to be a way of contacting them
CAT

cat1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2004, 09:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bombledmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northwestern MN
Posts: 1,111
bombledmonk is on a distinguished road
Microsoft Windows XP Longhorn!
Price: $49.95

Ha! That's a scam site. No doubt about it.
bombledmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2004, 09:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bombledmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northwestern MN
Posts: 1,111
bombledmonk is on a distinguished road
here is the info for the domain registration. Not a full phone number. Not a real address from what I can see. Not even a real zipcode (denver being 80202). Started on Nov 11th.
Quote:
WHOIS information for cheapsoftz.com:

[whois.directi.com]
Registration Service Provided By: ESTDOMAINS
Contact: support@estdomains.com
Website: http://www.estdomains.com
Abuse Desk Email Address: abuse@estdomains.com

Domain Name: CHEAPSOFTZ.COM

Registrant:
Neo net ltd
John Hopking (dm@lastsoft.biz)
PO box 675 , denver .co
Denver
CO,188101
US
Tel. +1.2372732

Creation Date: 11-Nov-2004
Expiration Date: 11-Nov-2005

Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.1stsotf-ns.com
ns1.1stsotf-ns.com


Administrative Contact:
Neo net ltd
John Hopking (dm@lastsoft.biz)
PO box 675 , denver .co
Denver
CO,188101
US
Tel. +1.2372732

Technical Contact:
Neo net ltd
John Hopking (dm@lastsoft.biz)
PO box 675 , denver .co
Denver
CO,188101
US
Tel. +1.2372732

Billing Contact:
Neo net ltd
John Hopking (dm@lastsoft.biz)
PO box 675 , denver .co
Denver
CO,188101
US
Tel. +1.2372732
bombledmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2004, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 147
cat1947 is on a distinguished road
I thought that it was a scam. Just thought I would what everone else thought.

Have a good week
CAT
cat1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Lathe of Heaven is on a distinguished road
cheapsoftz.com

At the first of November 2004 I bought Windows XP Professional
from cheapsoftz.com and it was a commercial version not needing to be authorized "Activated". I put it on two PCs and updated both of them without any problems. There wasn't really any need to update it as it was the latest version with SP2. They will add a fee for the processing of your Credit Card. It was about $4.50. For a total of around $55.00. Downloaded from their server.

High speed modem is highly recommended.

It's legal anyway if you paid for it and it works for you. What more could you want? If you want to make the rich richer then buy a retail package with the holograms and all that.

I took the chance because I figured it was either legal or these guys where master hackers and I really hoped it was the second way. I am far more sickened by the legal scams of big buisness.

I would hurry and get mine before something bad happens to them because they are giveing such a good deal on the software.
Someone might blow up their website or something.

Peace out.

I am the Lathe of Heaven with the Power of Creation
I am the Heart of Creation
I know a man's heart and even a God's
And I know the Truth!

And visit my website. http://www.immortalsoulofgod.com
It's all true and real and so am I...

I have bought Windows XP Pro from Cheapsoftz
Lathe of Heaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bombledmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northwestern MN
Posts: 1,111
bombledmonk is on a distinguished road
Re: cheapsoftz.com

Quote:
Originally posted by Lathe of Heaven


It's legal anyway if you paid for it and it works for you. What more could you want? If you want to make the rich richer then buy a retail package with the holograms and all that.
Sure advocate Piracy.... That will get you real far in life.
bombledmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 12:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
SurprisedUser is on a distinguished road
This company is bull.

I'm not a "disgruntled" (read: stupid) "customer" (read: gullible idiot), because I had the good sense to realise the minute I saw the "cheap" prices on their so-called sales site to know that they were scammers.

Come on guys... One of you have already stated the obvious. Longhorn isn't even out yet!

Oh, and advocating piracy by saying "You don't want to line the pockets of the big boys" is no excuse. If you don't like lining rich boy's pockets, go for the free alternatives that are truly legally free. If you believe you have a legal right to the software that you "paid for" through that site, then you deserve to have the bloody book thrown at you. It's obvious that they're breaking the law no matter what they claim. All you have to do is read the statement that they can "offer you free software" because they "don't have to provide manuals or boxes".

Yeah, right. Anyone stupid enough to fall for this deserves exactly what they got, just like idiots who fall for the "Venezuelan Millionaire" or "Widowed woman from Nigeria" who's offering their millions to someone for "just a small payment to release the funds".

One born every bloody minute.
SurprisedUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
pnoty96 is on a distinguished road
This company used to be called Megasoft Discounts about a month ago...they had a lot of complaints so Google removed them.

I actually bought and downloaded (hell, if it is fraudulent you are only liable for $50 on a credit card..but most wont charge you that either) anyway..downloaded Microsoft office 2003. Worked fine, (too 5 hours for one part, 7 on the other on DSL)..and was able to burn onto two CD's to install on several computers.

You will not be able to contact anyone there though, I did try that.

I think they are probably "black marketers" (no, not their race) and are pirating it. To the guy above, quit being such a prude. I agree (somewhat) with the previous guy. The "noble" concept of a "fair" profit / price has gone out the window. I feel a lot less for microsoft missing out on the full price for the unit, (which by the way, I am sure the R & D costs of the office suite has been recaptured a LONG time ago...thus making their profit margin probably 1000% ) than I do for guys that have to bust their butt for a living.

5 for price, 0 for service...averages a 3.
pnoty96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
SurprisedUser is on a distinguished road
Whatever...
SurprisedUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 07:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
MDS
Registered User
 
MDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N-the-center-Kansas
Posts: 2,694
MDS is on a distinguished road
Seems to be several members who have overlooked the rules so I provided a link.

"You will not use profane, vulgar, or obscene, or threatening language; nor post content that is vulgar, obscene, profane, pornographic, sexually oriented or sexually suggestive; nor will you link to sites or pages with related content. Said language or content will be removed without notice.

Threads regarding sensitive topics often get heated, however, members are still expected to remain composed and respectful, regardless of the subject matter.

Taunting and/or name calling are not acceptable for any reason. This policy applies to both new and already established members alike. ResellerRatings forum software provides both a email and private message subsystem, and members are expected to use these features to work out their personal differences in private, otherwise use the “Report this post to a moderator” link that appears in the lower right corner of every message.

You shall not post any message nor start any thread for the purpose of ridiculing another member whether expressed or implied. This includes responding in kind to comments that are perceived to be inflammatory.

Posting material outside the stated topic (also known as thread crapping) is not permitted. Any message that distracts from the stated topic or causes the discussion to go off-topic should be avoided or ignored. Such messages are subject to removal. Useless posting can further be defined as any material that provides no actual benefit to the forum or thread in which it is contained. Members that continue to post off topic or irrelevant remarks in threads may loose posting privileges."
MDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.