»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2004, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
Would you purchase Photoshop CS from this location?

Im unsure---cant tell if im getting involved illegally? or what?

http://www.ibackups.net/index.php?main=home is the location, (please feel free to kill the link if im missing something) their offices are pretty close to me and appear "above board" not being in some 3rd world country---
Software is available to DL with a cd backup if wanted...

What do ya think?

thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
silversurfer09 is on a distinguished road
would you buy.............

dude, adobe photoshop 8cs (retail) sells for $557 at New Egg. use your head. if something is too good to be true, it usually isn't. warez by any other name is warez. IMHO. take it for what it's worth.
silversurfer09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
Yes I realize that---I doubt they could stay in business for so long in the same location if they were selling bogus copies, sure dont look like most warez places ive seen, they have a local address, are set up to process creditcards and asking for payment (unlike warez) and collect sales tax, TUCOWS INC is the registered domain name holder---im looking for bogus but not actually finding it?

How does a warez ripoff site become the first contact to pop up doing a Google search for PS/CS purchase,and stay in that position without someone (ADOBE) shutting them down?
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 11:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
silversurfer09 is on a distinguished road
would you purchase............

sure looks like you've done your homework, amigo. you could check with adobe if you wanted to take the trouble, but your research does seem indicate these folks are legit. if that be the case, it's a hell of a deal. just make sure its the full retail version, not the upgrade, which sells for just about what these folks quote. <my guess is you already know that> worse case scenario, you do have your credit card company as a buffer although the process<chargeback> can be a royal pain. I really like the single use credit card numbers as scam protection. i'd be interested to know how your purchase works out if you decide to go for it.

cheers
silversurfer09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
demon_wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 118
demon_wolf is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to demon_wolf
I hope you already own a copy of Photoshop 8CS.

Read the terms and conditions:


9. Terms of Software Use

9.1 You understand that in order for iBackups.net to make you a copy of any software, you acknowledge that you are the legal owner of this same software, and are looking to just make a new copy for archival (backup) purposes only. You also agree to destroy all copies of the software in the event it is ever no longer voluntarily in your possession. You understand that only the licensed owner (with a valid serial number, where applicable) of the various software found on iBackups.net may use the services located here. You also acknowledge that the software you have was obtained legally and that you have the legal right to request this backup copy to be made. If you obtained your version though any other means, including any pirated versions, or if you do not already legally own the same version of the software requested, then you may not use this service. Furthermore, you agree to hold iBackups.net harmless for any damages that may occur for your failure to follow the U.S. Copyright and other laws as they pertain to the backup you are requesting. When you purchase any backup copy of software through iBackups.net, you agree to assume full liability in the event your actions are deemed illegal. iBackups.net does not condone software piracy and has every intention of complying with the laws pertaining to the duplication of software.


They are selling Backup copies of the Software. You already need to own a copy, in order to use your serial to install it.
demon_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
Thanks for pointing that out---I was coming back to mention what I had also found buried within---not sure still how they stay in business or do they rely on folks not reading thru I guess?---most software companys will send you a replacement copy if yours is destroyed, I found that out when I munched a XP pro disc---oh well, ive been wanting PS for some years now, just cant swing the price...
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.