»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2004, 04:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sheridan Texas
Posts: 201
Max_Confusion is on a distinguished road
Is this a new SCAM?

First off I never ordered this....
this appeared in my Junk email box, if you go to this site, and want to cancel this, it asks for all kinds of banking information,
my first instinct is to RUN like hell from this site and post this at TIMO and get some responses.

Sounds like SCAM to me.

the MSG >>

We have some problems with delivering your order.


Hello, Dear client.
--------------------------------
Your order ID: 1748142
--------------------------------
02/12/2004 You have ordered the notebook (New P3 Direct 17" Wide TFT
Notebook-with Pentium 4 3.06GHz Power)
with free-of-charge delivery.

We are very sorry, but we can't deliver it to you in promised terms, because
we have problems with our delivering company.
Your order can not be delivered earlier than in 28 days.
Sorry for inconveniences.

You have been billed and if time of delivery do not arrange you,
you can cancel your order and refund money here:
-----------------------------------------------------------
http://www.billserviceonline.com/ind...ByQh9ZWZ1bgZn=
-----------------------------------------------------------
Your money will be returned to you without any fee.
If you have any questions you can e-mail here: help@billserviceonline.com

Max_Confusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 04:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DVNT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,577
DVNT1 is on a distinguished road
Sure sounds like a scam.
DVNT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Jarhed7276's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 249
Jarhed7276 is on a distinguished road
You didn't order it and they want banking information.
Sounds like a scam to me.
Jarhed7276 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Sounds like the 1-800-Flowers scam e-mail that was widely disseminated to AOL customers.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: new hampshire
Posts: 615
stroyal is on a distinguished road
Same basic scam that has comes by phone and mail for years.
stroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 09:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,917
elroy is on a distinguished road
I typed the url www.billserviceonline.com into my browser and it went right to the sight. Guess what, they want to refund me $2,599.99 also.

Lets see who owns this domain:
Registrant:
James Barnick
847 4th Ave W
Dickinson, North Dakota 58601
United States

Registered through: Kore Domains
Domain Name: BILLSERVICEONLINE.COM
Created on: 14-Feb-04
Expires on: 14-Feb-05
Last Updated on: 14-Feb-04

Administrative Contact:
Barnick, James McHugh887@hotmail.com
847 4th Ave W
Dickinson, North Dakota 58601
United States
7014835561
Technical Contact:
Barnick, James McHugh887@hotmail.com
847 4th Ave W
Dickinson, North Dakota 58601
United States
7014835561

Domain servers in listed order:
PARK15.SECURESERVER.NET
PARK16.SECURESERVER.NET

I contacted the company that registered the domain. We'll see how long the website lasts.

Last edited by elroy; 02-18-2004 at 09:17 AM.
elroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Droppyale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: -----------
Posts: 1,798
Droppyale is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Droppyale Send a message via Yahoo to Droppyale
SCAMMMM!!!!

and to think people fall for this
Droppyale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DaveLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norman OK
Posts: 169
DaveLewis is on a distinguished road
Just in case it ever shows up (and if it does the Devil will be wearing an overcoat because h*ll will have frozen over) you can go ahead and keep it. The Post Office and FTC calls such things "unsolicited merchandise" - if you didn't order it and they send it anyway its clearly intended as a gift. I wouldn't sit waiting for delivery though. Sad to see how every con man and grifter that has access to a computer is out to rip people off.
DaveLewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 06:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 3,110
NeoStarO1 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to NeoStarO1 Send a message via AIM to NeoStarO1 Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStarO1
Quote:
Originally posted by elroy
I contacted the company that registered the domain. We'll see how long the website lasts.
Ditto to doing this. Look at the registration date of the domain. Was just this month. THis is new scam in the making and best put to stop IMMEDIATELY!

Years ago one of my brothers used to get scams like this and he would contact me about it and i'd go over there and relize it was scam right off and told him to ignore the order.
NeoStarO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 06:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,609
butch81385 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to butch81385
HAHAHAHA

tried the links:
"billserviceonline.com coming soon!
This page is parked FREE at GoDaddy.com"
butch81385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.