ResellerRatings Store Ratings - View Single Post - Can I trust World Phone Link?
View Single Post
Old 07-14-2008, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
nomaxim
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,060
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grace P View Post
World Phone Link only has a website with logo of "e commerce by yahoo". The phone number only reaches to a recording. Besides, the physical address indicate itself is in Dallas Texas, but the phone with an area code listed in Seattle, WA. Email to them has no reply.
From the website,
Quote:
WORLD PHONE LINK
9780 WALNUT ST, DALLAS, TEXAS 75243
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
TEL NUMBER: +1 206 222 2749
Per Whitepages.com
Quote:
(206) 222-2749 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Type: Land Line
Provider: International Telcom, Ltd
Location: Seattle, WA
The WhoIs info shows,
Quote:
Domain Name.......... worldphonelink.com
Creation Date........ 2008-06-03
Registration Date.... 2008-06-03
Expiry Date.......... 2009-06-03
Organisation Name.... Luca spano
Organisation Address. 29 west 57th street
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. New York
Organisation Address. 10019
Organisation Address. NY
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Luca spano
Admin Address........ 29 west 57th street
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ New York
Admin Address........ 10019
Admin Address........ NY
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email............. cgannon99 @yahoo.com (edited, rempve space)
Admin Phone.......... +1.3612888538
Just went online last month, used a free yahoo e-mail account, and per Whitepages.com,
Quote:
(361) 288-8538 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Type: Land Line
Provider: Level 3 Communications
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
A reverse address search using Whitepages.com shows 66 results for the address in Dallas and 25 results for the address in New York. A World Phone Link or similar does not seem to be listed at either location.

And as already stated,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve R Jones
They request payments via Western Union -> Is a BIG RED FLAG. Run Forest Run.
EDIT:
Found this running the yahoo e-mail addy at india.recruit.net
The first one was in Chinese and was run through Google translator.
Quote:
Payment Accountant Needed
E-Sources (USA, India) E-Sources (USA, India)

... Job Details - Payment Accountant Needed Payment Accountant Needed Company E-Sources Job Location USA Job Description Greetings Do ... eSources. co. uk cgannon99@yahoo. com FOR U. S and Canadian Residents Only. Experience 0 - 1 Contact Person Charles Gannon cgannon99@yahoo. com Reference ...
(release date: 06-18-2008)
This appears to be the original from naukri2000.com. You can link to it in the above listing.
Quote:
Company E-Sources
Job Location USA
Job Description GreetingsDo you wish to work from home/ office and make some extra moneyWell here is your chanceI am Mr. Charles Gannon, and I am the Human Resources Manager for E sources Limited UK (www. esources. co. uk). Esources is a small company thats deals inwhole sales of T-Shirts, Cardigans, Ladies Tops, Kids wear & Silver Jewellery. We offer exceptional customer service and quality at discounted prices! Everything in our catalogue is priced in UK/ US funds. You can check to see from our web-site. We are searching for financial payment contractor (Accountant Officer/ Company Rep) in the U. S and Canada for our company who are willing to work for us and get paid weekly without leaving their present Job. Our clients shall be making payments to us for supplies in Bank Transfer and Western Union so you shall help in the processing of the payments to us here in the UK. Subject to our satisfaction you will be paid 1500US$ weekly and your working time is 2hrs per day and 3days a week. Please if you are interested send the following on Email: com1. Full Name2. Permanent Home Address (zip code inclusive) 3. Telephone Number 4. AgeI await your urgent response. Warmest Regards. Charles Gannon Head of Human ResourceeSources. co. comFOR U. S and Canadian Residents Only.
Experience 0 - 1 0 - 1
Contact Person Charles com
Reference Code (30843) - Posted on 18-06-2008
Claims to work for E-Sources UK but uses the same Yahoo e-mail address. The ad looks to be for what is know as a 'Payment Processor Scam'. This works by paying someone to pick up money at Western Union, or moving it through their bank, PayPal, etc. accounts, and then wire it somewhere else. Usually the person doing this has no idea what the money is for and end up getting their accounts emptied as well. Not to mention likely getting in trouble with the authorities. Ask yourself how a small UK company can afford to pay someone $6000 a month. This ad was posted two weeks after the website went up.

__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim : 07-14-2008 at 06:16 PM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote