View Single Post
Old 06-25-2007, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
nomaxim
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.
The WhoIs info shows;
Quote:
Registrant:
Art International
8 rue saint Philippe
Nice, 06000
FR

Registrar: DOTSTER
Domain Name: ARTINTERNATIONALWHOLESALE.COM
Created on: 19-JUL-02
Expires on: 19-JUL-08
Last Updated on: 30-MAY-07

Administrative, Technical Contact:
Bolton, Michael artinter2003 @ yahoo.fr (edited, remove spaces)
Art International
8 rue saint Philippe
Nice, 06000
FR
+33 603162866
+33 493448299
Created: 2002-07-19
Expires: 2008-07-19
SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host
First it uses a free yahoo e-mail account. The 'No Valid SSL' means that they are not set up for secure CC transactions. Next is the address's and phone numbers, the website gives this contact info;
Quote:
US;
Art International
26 C Trolley Square
Wilmington, Delaware 19806
United States
302-261-5179

UK;
New Lodge Building
Turnpike Road, Redlodge
Bury St Edmunds Suffolk IP28 8JY
44 (0)20 7870 8093

France;
29 rue Caravadossi
06000 Nice
The information for the US;
The phone number, 302-261-5179, comes back with Whitepages.com, (click the link for full listing) as;
Quote:
37 Results matching "(302) 261-5179"
26C Trolley Sq
Wilmington, DE 19806-3356
It lists 37 people as having the same address and phone number so I would guess that you need a ext. number. But, 3 of the 5 people listed on the websites 'Who We Are' page show up on that list.



The information for the UK;
The postal code, IP28 8JY, in the UK cannot be found, IP28 is for Suffolk, however RoyalMail.com says;
Quote:
Unfortunately we could not find this postcode. Please check it. If the postcode is correct but we still can’t find it, please read the help below to find out what to do.
Also the phone number given, +44 (0)20 7870 8093, per numberingplans.com and confirmed by countrycallingcodes.com is a land line for Inner London;
Quote:
Number billable as geographic number
Country or destination United Kingdom
City or exchange location London
Original network provider* Gamma Telecom Holdings Ltd
EDIT:
Also,UK Phone Information.
Ohh, and Suffolk is 75 miles NE of London. Bury St Edmunds is about half way between Suffolk and Cambridge. Google Earth does show a building, but shows it only as Red Lodge. Google Earth gives me an error if I try just the postal code, IP28 8JY.



The information for France;
The postal code on the website is wrong, the one in the WhoIs address is correct. Per the French Postal Code Database the correct code is 06100, not 06000;
Quote:
The full address is:
29, Avenue Caravadossi
06100 NICE


As to PayPal;
On the website's homepage there is a 'PayPal Verified" seal. If you click on the seal it redirects you to the 'Payment FAQ' page for the website and says;
Quote:
Note: Our corporate admin is now done from our Hong Kong office so we have had to change the Paypal account to there.This has meant having a new PayPal account
To ensure that this is a legitimate PayPal Verified user, make sure that the URL of this page begins with https://www.paypal.com/.
The seal does not go to a PayPal URL, it redirects back to their site. It is a cut and paste job.

Per PayPal
Quote:
What is the Verified seal?

Question :What is the Verified seal?
Answer :
A When you are Verified, you can place a PayPal Verified seal on your non-eBay auction or your website. When buyers click the seal, they are taken to a PayPal-hosted page which confirms that you hold a Verified PayPal account. Having a Verified account is a positive sign to buyers that you have confirmed your financial identity with PayPal.

Post a Verified seal on your non-eBay auction or website by following these steps:

1. Log in to your PayPal account.
2. Click the Verified link on the Account Overview page.
3. Follow the steps to insert the seal.
Either the seal has not been inserted into the website correctly or they are not verified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubber911
and I checked up their member id, they have a feedback score of 180+ verified buyers in paypal.
Where did you find the member ID number, and are you sure it is their's?


Back to the "No Valid SSL" the websites 'Payment FAQ' page also states;
Quote:
5. Is ordering online safe?
Yes it is. With Artinternationalwholesale.com, ordering online is safe. We use the latest security technology, which includes data encryption, server authentication, and message integrity. This site has security measures in place to protect the loss, misuse and alteration of the information under our control. All data is protected using the most advanced methods available. We do not store financial information like credit card numbers or personal information like social security numbers on this site.
They do not, "use the latest security technology, which includes data encryption, server authentication, and message integrity." That is what a valid SSL cert means.



There are too many little errors for my tastes, and I would wonder if they put the same care into their art, shipping and customer service as they have with the various contact information and technical aspects of their website. I don't think I would use them with anything less the a 0% liability credit card. You can do that through PayPal.

__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 06-25-2007 at 11:20 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote